Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for -- a stable and moist crumb. I baked this into small cupcakes for my daughter's birthday and frosted them with a strawberry frosting. The kids rapidly devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This cake was awesome. Due a milk allergy, I sub all the dairy ingredients for non-dairy. Earth balance to replace the butter and Coconut milk to replace the buttermilk. It turned out amazing! I also used Almond extract and it added just a wee bit of flavor! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KassyS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
just okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
i give this recipe 5 stars. It was absolutely delicious. I didn't have to change a thing, in the cake or the frosting! Very moist and frosting very creamy! Thank You Irene Peery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Superb! I doubled the recipe, added an extra square, of semi-sweet, chocolate and a tablespoon of instant coffee grounds. Baked it until just BEFORE it was "done" and let it finish as it cooled. Super moist, super delicious. I can't believe how perfect this cake is! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcherry5
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
it's super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Sorry, but I didn't like it al all. Too dense and had not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
mine didnt turn out as dark as the one in this picture and i followed the recipe exactly. mine turned out more of a latte colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
i agree the cake is moist but using vegetable oil to get the moistness isnt really being moist at all!! please look up Dark Chocolate Cake I for a much much better recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Irene, this is such a good recipe! Thank you for sharing! It's really moist, the texture is great and ohhh that topping - it's a sell out! Happy Easter, Joy, Malaysia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States