Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for -- a stable and moist crumb. I baked this into small cupcakes for my daughter's birthday and frosted them with a strawberry frosting. The kids rapidly devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This cake was awesome. Due a milk allergy, I sub all the dairy ingredients for non-dairy. Earth balance to replace the butter and Coconut milk to replace the buttermilk. It turned out amazing! I also used Almond extract and it added just a wee bit of flavor! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KassyS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
just okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
i give this recipe 5 stars. It was absolutely delicious. I didn't have to change a thing, in the cake or the frosting! Very moist and frosting very creamy! Thank You Irene Peery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Superb! I doubled the recipe, added an extra square, of semi-sweet, chocolate and a tablespoon of instant coffee grounds. Baked it until just BEFORE it was "done" and let it finish as it cooled. Super moist, super delicious. I can't believe how perfect this cake is! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcherry5
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
it's super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Sorry, but I didn't like it al all. Too dense and had not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
mine didnt turn out as dark as the one in this picture and i followed the recipe exactly. mine turned out more of a latte colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
i agree the cake is moist but using vegetable oil to get the moistness isnt really being moist at all!! please look up Dark Chocolate Cake I for a much much better recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Irene, this is such a good recipe! Thank you for sharing! It's really moist, the texture is great and ohhh that topping - it's a sell out! Happy Easter, Joy, Malaysia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States