Moist Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Excellent but the printed recipe is a little too moist. I made it to a T the first time, and the cake was good but a bit oily. The 2nd time, as suggested by others, I did 2/3 cup each of oil and applesauce, and it was so moist and wet, like a pudiing cake. The pineapple adds a lot of moisture, so decreasing the oil is ok. So ever since, I've used 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. Whatever you decide to use (oil, applesauce)just decrease the overall amount to 1 cup. I bake it at 350 degrees (instead of 325) in two 9" cake pans for exactly 30 min. Turned out perfect. I use ALL light brown sugar. Drain/squeeze out all of the pineapple juice before adding to the batter. (8 oz. pineapple = 1 cup) Will definitely make again. Super moist! (4 star original recipe, 5 star with very slight change) Will be my master recipe. Use Cream Cheese Frosting II for a layer cake. If you like heavy frosting, you might need to use 3 packages of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
THIS IS AWESOME RECIPE FOR CARROT CAKE, THE BEST I'VE EVER MADE, BUT I HAVE TO SAY THAT PUTTING IN THAT MUCH OIL IS NOT NECESSARY. INSTEAD I CUT THE OIL IN HALF AND ONLY USED 3/4 C. AND THEN ADDED 3/4 C. OF UNSWEETENED APPLESAUCE. CAKE TURNED OUT MORE FLAVORFUL AND MOIST BESIDES LOSING ALL THOSE CALORIES AND FAT. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN. HOPE THIS HELPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I have made the cake so many times since I found it. My family loves it. My boyfriend takes it to work on the construction site and the guys just love it. I can never have enough in the house. It is so good you don't even have to use the cream cheese topping. I think the next time I make it, I will cut the oil back by 1/4 cup to see how it comes out. Even though this recipe is excellent, I do find a bit oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This is a very good recipe for carrot cake. I was looking for one that included pineapples, coconut, and nuts. I used pecans because I have them readily available. The only modification that was made was that I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the cake batter. The cake was very moist and I made a cream cheese frosting for it that consists of 4 oz. of cream cheese, 2 tbsp. butter, 1 tbsp. of milk, 1 tsp. vanilla and 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. Make sure that the cream cheese and butter are soft when mixing. I got rave reviews from everyone for this cake and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This Carrot Cake is the Best I have ever eaten. my husband likes spice cake so I added 1/2 teaspoon of cloves and 1/2 allspice I also added 1 cup rasins because I had them on hand , but would be just as good without them. When my hasband ate a piece of this cake he says " WOW this is the beat cake you have made in 45 years " That says alot for this recipe ,as over the years I have baked alot of desserts. Allrecipes.com is the best site for recipes. Thanks for the Moist Carrot Cake Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This cake was delicious. I used 3/4 cup of oil & 3/4 cup of applesauce and cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cup to cut down on calories. It was very moist and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
this recipe was really good but, it was a little too oily for me. i think next time i'll put 1 c of oil instead of 1 1/2c. it did take longer to bake as said by other reviews. i baked mine for 15 min. longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I have made this cake twice now and due to make it again. I have received such wonderful compliments I can only recommend for all carrot cake lovers to try this recipe out, it is easy to make and will be such a hit with all friends and family alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I have to say that everyone that I have made this for absolutely loves it!! It is easily the BEST carrot cake I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This cake is the BEST!!! Everytime I make it people gobble it up! It is very moist and the flavours come together fabulously! A really good cream cheese frosting makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States