Moist Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Everybody I've made this for loves it! One lady thought i made it from a mix!! My mom won't share!!! 6 out 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My co-workers gave me five stars! One said that it was absolutely delicious and another said that they were fighting over it. She loved how moist it was. I did make a few changes, based on what other reviewers said. Instead of vegetable oil, I used 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce (so the cake was moist and had a nice butter taste). I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar, which turned out just sweet enough. I messed up by buying diced pineapple, but crushed pineapple would have been better in providing a more even texture. Definitely squeeze out the excess pineapple juice! I also added a small package of raisins, which I soaked in water for about 5 minutes (maybe next time I will try soaking in the leftover pineapple juice). To the dry mixture, I had also grated a dusting of nutmeg. Also added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. For frosting, I combined one 8-ounce cream cheese and 1/2 cup butter (both room-temp) with 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 2 1/4 cup powdered sugar. Thanks so much to Koribear and other reviewers for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and we were fighting over the crumbs! I used store bought cream cheese frosting since I am so busy and it didn't matter one bit. I also pressed chopped nuts on the side. Watch out Zingerman's, you've got serious competition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Dense and full of flavor, the colors and textures are just right. With the cream cheese frosting I found that this is a highly satisfying cake one piece was too much for me, really rich and dense but not too dense because the add-ins provide enough texture to give it volume. My fave recipe for carrot cake to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
this recipe was easy and yum... ive never made carrot cake before and i absolutly loved it!!! tasted good with regular frosting i made at home yet instead of vanilla extract i used orange extract in the frosting... and surprisingly it went together very well!!!! thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitten_mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newport, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a great cake! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I make this carrot cake all the time. It's absolutely delicious and so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is the same recipe I have been using for years -- everyone raves over it. People swear it is the best carrot cake they have ever had. I got it from my mother, who got it from her father. Mine calls for pecans instead of walnuts. Other recipes don't include the can of crushed pineapple, but it makes it so moist. I use a bag of grated carrots from the store which makes prepping super easy. Also fantastic for cupcakes with lots of cream cheese frosting. Incredibly rich. Even people that don't like carrot cake love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The cake was delicious. My deviations were: I added 1 cup of oil and 1/2 c of applesauce. I also used raisins instead of coconut. I will use this recipe always. I made best carrot cake in the world, also on this site, was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I had to make a few changes to this recipe for it to work. There was way too much oil and wasn't cakey enough. I changed the oil to 1/2 cup oil and added 1 cup applesauce, increased the flour to 2 1/2 cups and decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Baked in my gas oven for 45 - 50 minutes in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States