Moist Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Excellent but the printed recipe is a little too moist. I made it to a T the first time, and the cake was good but a bit oily. The 2nd time, as suggested by others, I did 2/3 cup each of oil and applesauce, and it was so moist and wet, like a pudiing cake. The pineapple adds a lot of moisture, so decreasing the oil is ok. So ever since, I've used 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. Whatever you decide to use (oil, applesauce)just decrease the overall amount to 1 cup. I bake it at 350 degrees (instead of 325) in two 9" cake pans for exactly 30 min. Turned out perfect. I use ALL light brown sugar. Drain/squeeze out all of the pineapple juice before adding to the batter. (8 oz. pineapple = 1 cup) Will definitely make again. Super moist! (4 star original recipe, 5 star with very slight change) Will be my master recipe. Use Cream Cheese Frosting II for a layer cake. If you like heavy frosting, you might need to use 3 packages of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
THIS IS AWESOME RECIPE FOR CARROT CAKE, THE BEST I'VE EVER MADE, BUT I HAVE TO SAY THAT PUTTING IN THAT MUCH OIL IS NOT NECESSARY. INSTEAD I CUT THE OIL IN HALF AND ONLY USED 3/4 C. AND THEN ADDED 3/4 C. OF UNSWEETENED APPLESAUCE. CAKE TURNED OUT MORE FLAVORFUL AND MOIST BESIDES LOSING ALL THOSE CALORIES AND FAT. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN. HOPE THIS HELPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I have made the cake so many times since I found it. My family loves it. My boyfriend takes it to work on the construction site and the guys just love it. I can never have enough in the house. It is so good you don't even have to use the cream cheese topping. I think the next time I make it, I will cut the oil back by 1/4 cup to see how it comes out. Even though this recipe is excellent, I do find a bit oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This is a very good recipe for carrot cake. I was looking for one that included pineapples, coconut, and nuts. I used pecans because I have them readily available. The only modification that was made was that I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the cake batter. The cake was very moist and I made a cream cheese frosting for it that consists of 4 oz. of cream cheese, 2 tbsp. butter, 1 tbsp. of milk, 1 tsp. vanilla and 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. Make sure that the cream cheese and butter are soft when mixing. I got rave reviews from everyone for this cake and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This cake was delicious. I used 3/4 cup of oil & 3/4 cup of applesauce and cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cup to cut down on calories. It was very moist and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This Carrot Cake is the Best I have ever eaten. my husband likes spice cake so I added 1/2 teaspoon of cloves and 1/2 allspice I also added 1 cup rasins because I had them on hand , but would be just as good without them. When my hasband ate a piece of this cake he says " WOW this is the beat cake you have made in 45 years " That says alot for this recipe ,as over the years I have baked alot of desserts. Allrecipes.com is the best site for recipes. Thanks for the Moist Carrot Cake Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
this recipe was really good but, it was a little too oily for me. i think next time i'll put 1 c of oil instead of 1 1/2c. it did take longer to bake as said by other reviews. i baked mine for 15 min. longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I have made this cake twice now and due to make it again. I have received such wonderful compliments I can only recommend for all carrot cake lovers to try this recipe out, it is easy to make and will be such a hit with all friends and family alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I have to say that everyone that I have made this for absolutely loves it!! It is easily the BEST carrot cake I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This cake is the BEST!!! Everytime I make it people gobble it up! It is very moist and the flavours come together fabulously! A really good cream cheese frosting makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States