Moist Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Made this last night as a birthday cake and everyone loved it. I replaced the can of pineapple with 4 overripe bananas that I had in the freezer and followed other people suggestions on 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce with only one cup of sugar. Taste was great and cake was very very moist. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I was disappointed, but by following other reviewers. I omitted the 1/2 cup oil and then used 1/2 cup each of oil and applesauce, but kept everything else the same. Too dry! Aterward looking at this photo and remembering my Mom's carrot cake, a good carrot cake is supposed to be slightly oily. That's what makes it good and moist. Next time I will just use the full amount of oil and see if I can give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotia, New York, USA
Living In: Durango, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
The best! I had never made scratch carrot cake and this passed the test with both of my octogenarian aunts. I did substitute half unsweetened applesauce for half of the oil, drained the pineapple well, added pecans instead of walnuts and covered it in cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Like others, I lowered the oil and substituted applesauce for part (1/2 c. oil and 1/2 applesauce). I skipped the coconut. With those alterations, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Delicious! This was my first ever carrot cake, and I am sticking to this recipe. Reading the reviews, I made some changes: I juiced half of the carrots and used the pulp only, so it was not too moist, but perfect, and I didn't add the coconut flakes. It was easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andiqa1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Oh my it was amazing and very easy. Mine took twice the time to cook as I don't have fan bake so after 40min I covered with tin foil to avoid the top burning. My whole family loved it and wanting the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This turned out amazing, my family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
It's become my favorite carrot cake recipe although I have to leave out the coconut due to someones allergy. I double the shredded carrots instead and it works out great. Hesitant baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Best carrot cake I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Amazingly flufy and moist..but lacks the spicy strong chrismasy flavour..it's alright with coffe or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States