Moist Caramel Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This tasted like a typical cake mix recipe. It made for a nice presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This cake did not taste like much other than a moist version of a yelow box cake mix. It was good for a one-time dessert but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hampstead, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I liked this cake, but it was very very moist. I put on the caramel topping after the cake had cooled completely and the caramel was cool but still soft. The cake looked beautiful, but about two hours later, the caramel had absorbed into the cake or fallen off the cake and the cake looked mushy and old. If you make this recipe for an event, I suggest waiting until the last second to put that topping on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Wonderful cake thats wonderfully easy to make; haven't tried the caramel sauce yet but the cake itself with just a little whip cream is great, Im sure the sauce will just add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good will make again. Did no adjustments to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yum! I made this for my husband and all of his male co-workers. They loved it, even my husband who was raised on a farm with a mother who made everything from scratch! I did what some people suggested and only did 1tablespoon of milk, which was a great decision. I also, didn’t have to wait the 10 minutes for the caramel to thicken; it was ready right out of the microwave. One bigger change that I made was that I used chunky apple sauce INSTEAD of having to peel and chop the apples. I substituted the 3 apples for 3 cups chunky apple sauce and only ½ a cup of water. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Good! Definitely heed the advice in the footnotes and do not use a cake mix with pudding in it. My little store didn't have one without pudding, so I took my chances and wound up with a cake that was bordering on too moist. Great flavor though! I did replace the water with apple juice and added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake batter. I wanted my glaze to be a bit thicker so I only used 1 T of milk and threw in a few extra caramels. Lovely presentation. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
After reading all the reviews I was really looking forward to making this cake. Our family found this very average. I do like the idea of the apples in the cake but it was a big disappointment in flavor. Not only will I not make this again, I am not tempted to even have another piece! Much better desserts out there to put my calories toward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by tenderbelle61
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great! Followed recipe as is, except added a little cinnamon and nutmeg...very tasty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States