Mohawk Milk Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It's difficult to rate this recipe what with the baking powder overload! Two TABLESPOONS? I'll play devil's advocate and give this recipe four stars and the benefit of the doubt that a typo is at work here! I used two TEASPOONS of baking powder and ended up with an absolutely perfect white cake. In fact, I'd consider this a great go-to recipe for all those of us who are constantly searching for that elusive, good and dependable white cake. Nope - this doesn't have a "corn bread texture." Yes, it is light, tender and pleasantly sweet and vanilla scented. Nope - it isn't dry. Yes, it is still sturdy enough for layers. But do NOT use 2 T. of baking powder! I melted the butter and milk together in the microwave while I mixed the eggs and sugar. I didn't bother to sift the flour and baking powder, and I added 1/2 tsp. salt to heighten the flavor. I baked this as cupcakes, pouring the batter easily (don't worry when you see how thin it is!) into the cupcake liners. Baked them about 20 minutes. I can't imagine the issues one might have with this cake if baked with so much baking powder - dryness? Caving in? Coarse, corn bread texture? Perhaps this is why so few have reviewed this recipe, and the last review was nearly three years ago! But with this one change, this just might be a 5-star recipe. With its unusual name, I'm sure I'll remember this recipe the next time I need a good white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is a wonderful cake to make for any occasion! Not to sweet, no overbearing flavor. I've found that an almond drizzle icing makes it even better! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Well, the cake batter tasted good, and the aroma was just as sweet. My son saw it and could wait to try it. So, as soon as it was cool enough we cut into it. Wow, a sweet biscuit disguised as cake. That's why I rated it only a one, for as a cake, oh no way! Next time, I make it I will put it into muffin tins and call them sweet biscuits. Thanks for sharing the most interesting bicuit cake I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
We just loved this cake! I frosted it with chocolate and between my husband and his buddies it was gone in 2 days! Am making it again today per their request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Im sorry but I didnt like the texture at all :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro Garza García, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I thought it was great my girlfriend didn't think it was all that. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Tasted great - light and fluffy. One of my guests described it as tasting like "sweet muted cornbread". I added a raspberry drizzle to the top to add some color and sweetness a bit, and everyone who had some loved it. I also subsituted Splenda with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Though, to my dismay, this cake fell as I took it out of the oven, it is still quite tasty. I will have to see what my guests think of it tonight, but I am sure it will be a hit! It was not the Milk cake I was looking for, but a nice change all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
The cake didn't come out well at all, it was most likely my fault...but it still didn't appeal to me as a "good" cake. But thanks for the opportunity to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This is the only cake that I have ever made to fall, but the flavor was good. Its a recipe that I would probably hang on to, because its a good recipe, just not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States