Mofongo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was my first time making mofongo and it turned out delicious!! I added a few slices of bacon as I was mashing the plantains but followed everything else exactly. It was pretty easy and a big hit with my boyfriend who loves Puerto Rican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! I made it with chicken stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
If you don't have a mortar and pestle, use a wooden spoon. That is what I used and it did the trick. However, I also used the minced garlic that comes in a jar rather than the cloves. That helps ease the labor process if you don't have a mortar and pestle as well. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I'm Puertorican and I don't own a Puertorican pestle or mortal(pilon) and it is my second time making it. I just got creative and I used a deep round bowl with a small baking rolling pin and used the round edges of it to mash the plantain. I creamed the garlic in the food processor. I also used the food processor to only beak in tiny pieces the pork skin. I used a combination of green plantain and slightly yellow ones. It is not that complicated to make it. It came out great and delicious to be my second time making mofongo! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuanMarquezFilm
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The recipe was very easy to follow. It came out very tasty and tasted like home, Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuanMarquezFilm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Used a food processor instead and it was amazingly great! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It was my first time making mofongo and it came out really good...had to double the ingredients but i would def make it again with shrimp next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is a very authentic Puertorrican Mofongo recipe. If you are not from PR will probably not know a few things: The mortar and pestle to be used is made of wood, look in the auction site for "Puerto Rico mortar" and you will find a lot for sale. If you run out of olive oil, the canola oil used for frying can be used as a substitute. In the States you can find Howard's Fried Pork Skin, they are very good for this recipe. When mashing the fried plantain, first add a pinch of salt and 1-2 cloves of garlic to the mortar and mash a little with the pestle, then, one by one, add the plantain chunks and mash. Once you have an homogeneous mixture the mofongo is ready. Run a knife or spatula between the mofongo and the mortar walls, turn the mortar upside down, and bang against the counter top; you will get a nice mofongo dome. Or, push the mofongo against the walls of the mortar, leaving the center hollow, and fill with your favorite seafood stew; eat directly from the mortar...Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is delicious but rather labor intensive. I don't know what sort of mortar & pestle the author of this recipe has, but I found the mashing of the garlic and plaintains difficult in my modestly-sized marble one. It definitely took more than 15 minutes! Does she have a LARGE authentic Puerto Rican wooden one (as seen on Man vs. Food)? The result, however, was wonderful (I ended up using my "boat motor" to puree it). I made this as my sister's b'day dinner (her request) along with "Camarones al Aijillo." Would not make again due to the difficuly of preparation, but thanks for sharing just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very good!!! I couldn't find the pork rinds so I crisped 3 bacon strips and ground them up. I also put about 1 tsp of butter in the mix together with the olive oil. YUMMMYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States