Mofongo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Loved this! It was like a trip back to the DR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Been to PR 3 times and have eaten a lot of mofongo there. I tried to bake the plaintains to make this recipe healthier, although I still used a good bit of oil. I thought it was a little dry in the end, but this was probably by fault, and the raw garlic was overpowering. However, the flavor was still good and it went really nicely with the garlic shrimp recipe on this site. Next time I think I will add a yucca or a potato for a smoother mash, and my cousin who cooks a lot with plaintains suggested boiling, which may accomplish making this dish healthier while avoiding the dryness. I think I will also cut down on the raw garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The plantains should be green unripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was my first time making mofongo and it turned out delicious!! I added a few slices of bacon as I was mashing the plantains but followed everything else exactly. It was pretty easy and a big hit with my boyfriend who loves Puerto Rican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! I made it with chicken stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
If you don't have a mortar and pestle, use a wooden spoon. That is what I used and it did the trick. However, I also used the minced garlic that comes in a jar rather than the cloves. That helps ease the labor process if you don't have a mortar and pestle as well. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I'm Puertorican and I don't own a Puertorican pestle or mortal(pilon) and it is my second time making it. I just got creative and I used a deep round bowl with a small baking rolling pin and used the round edges of it to mash the plantain. I creamed the garlic in the food processor. I also used the food processor to only beak in tiny pieces the pork skin. I used a combination of green plantain and slightly yellow ones. It is not that complicated to make it. It came out great and delicious to be my second time making mofongo! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuanMarquezFilm
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The recipe was very easy to follow. It came out very tasty and tasted like home, Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuanMarquezFilm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Used a food processor instead and it was amazingly great! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It was my first time making mofongo and it came out really good...had to double the ingredients but i would def make it again with shrimp next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States