Moe's Fabulous Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great recipe for mashed potatoes! I lightened it up a bit by using Land O Lakes light butter and skim milk. These turned out really good - there's just nothing like good old fashioned comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Ohhhh, don't add all this milk in at once! I have a feeling you'll be disappointed if you do. Just dribble it into the potatoes until you get the thickness that appeals to you. And, while it's always a good idea to heat the milk before adding it to the potatoes, I'm not sure I understand the necessity of boiling it. The reason I tried these potatoes had nothing to do with that however. It was all about the nutmeg. I've enjoyed the slightest hint of it in other savory dishes, but never in potatoes, and I was curious. While I won't make a habit of including nutmeg in my mashed potatoes, I did enjoy the subtle hint of it here as well and was pleased I tried it (but Hubs not so much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Followed recipe to a "T" and they are hands down, the best I have ever tasted. I initially thought the nutmeg was weird, but found it makes a cream of mushroom soup, so why not mashed potatoes? I will use this every time I make mashed. Hubby loves them even more than my normal "best ever" so this is a true hit. Since making them the first time, he has requested them over and over. Calls them "Moe's Mashed" says he has never tasted anything so delicious. Morgan, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking for a bit healthier version so I kept the skins on, used "Smart Balance® Butter Blend Stick", and used 2% milk. I really think the Yukon Gold potatoes were the difference in the texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Great recipe. The nutmeg adds an interesting flavor that reminded me of Thanksgiving. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
VERY creamy. I might even use a little less milk but they were very good. I also sprinkled with garlic powder and that tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
yes...this is the recipe i've been looking for. forget the garlic and the fancy mixes. we love this one...didn't use nutmeg and they were still the #1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great! I just added an extra stick of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabby_shy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Alda, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Mmmmmm...delish! These were fabulous. I substituted cream for the whole milk, and only used about 1 T butter. Did not use the nutmeg, but put about 1 1/2 t kosher salt in along with a generous sprinkling of white pepper. I didn't peel the potatoes because I'm lazy and also like them that way. They were the most delicious potatoes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Crowd pleaser! These will be my go-to mashed potatoes. But I wouldn't follow a previous reviewers suggestion to leave on the peel. (I don't know what I was thinking doing that.) It just got clumped up and I ended up picking it out. I used 1% milk to lighten up and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States