Modenese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
A pretty darned accurate and authentic style of traditional Italian cooking! (See, we DO eat more than pasta and pizza, although this IS good with pasta, or roasted potatoes too!) Use olive oil and, if you can, fresh rosemary. And be sure not to overcook your chops or they'll be tough and dry. Growing up we always prepared chicken this way too--particularly good with a cut up fryer rather than boneless chicken breasts as you want to cook this long enough to infuse all these wonderful flavors into the meat. Simple yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made these for the first time a year and a half ago. It is a great recipe. I do cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and actually increase the wine to almost a full cup. This allows a nice amount of sauce. For those who experience "tough" chops, the key to this recipe is thickness. The thicker the chop (get as close to 1-inch as you can) the better. Breakfast-cut or traditional pork chops will not work. They are too thin and will dry during the browning stage. Use the thicker center cuts and they will turn out great! Like other reviewers, I slice fresh yellow onion and mushroom and add them in the last few minutes of simmering. If you're looking for a new spin on comfort foods, this is the recipe for you to try! Goes perfectly with mashed potatoes and green beans sauteed in soy sauce and minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Eubanks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very good recipe for pork chops. I used olive oil instead of butter to brown the chops, since I didn't have any wine on hand I used apple juice (the light apple flavor was great with the pork), and I just cooked and turned them until they were done. Came out great! Delicious and pretty tender. Great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cereal Killer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
AWESOME!!! But, 20 minutes is not long enough to cook. I also do this with a pork loin and cook in the crock pot, and everyone who tries it LOVES it! And it smells ssoooo good while it cooks. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
the recipe works great, but try using fresh rosemary and it gets much better. also, with chops, do a 1 hour brine with salt and brown sugar to keep the meat moist and add flavor-it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
WOW! This is a fantastic recipe. Very easy and VERY delicious! I always use a fresh rosemary (you'll want to use about 3 tsp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was very good. I made this twice. The second time I added some finely chopped onion and portabella mushroom when I added the sauce and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
i used apple wine from vermont instead of white wine for this. for the last 5-7 minutes i threw in some thickly sliced mushrooms and some broccoli. it was absolute heaven! so tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I added mushrooms when I added the wine, which was a nice touch. My husband and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was such an easy recipe even I could do it!! I would watch out for the salt, though. I put just a pinch of salt now and its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Fillingim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States