Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Awesome! I have been vegetarian for almost nine years, and tuna sandwiches/tuna melts and hamburgers are the only things I have missed. Well, this recipe has answered my tuna cravings. I made a number of taste changes, though....added much more mayo, red onion, sweet relish, pepper, powdered mustard to taste and the secret ingredient - sea salt. I tried it on crackers for a taste test, then refrigerated and made a "tuna melt" sandwich the following day. Yum! Who needs to eat a real fish? Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I've made this a few times and really liked it, but last time made a couple of modifications. First, as someone else mentioned in a review, I used lowfat plain yogurt instead of mayo. I also added 1 tsp. of capers, and used india relish instead of sweet pickle relish (it's just a little spicier). I had to go back and add about a teaspoon of mayo; the yogurt didn't do it for me. But I guess it reduces the fat content significantly to use mostly yogurt and a little mayo. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I happen to love tuna salad sandwiches. I'd say that the only thing reminiscent of tuna salad (or egg salad for that matter) are the condiments used to flavor this. However, I love chickpeas/garbanzo beans. I just made this recipe for lunch today and like it very much! I'd suggest mashing it with a fork (or even a sturdy pastry cutter) if you like texture. I didn't have green onions so took a little of a regular onion and minced it. I also didn't have canned chick peas and so soaked the dried ones over night and cooked them this morning before making this. That texture may possibly be different from canned. Canned would save time! I will definitely be making this from time to time. It's a great change for lunch! Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Wow, I was very impressed with this! I have been wanting tuna salad for a long time (no fish!) and this totally hit the spot. I didn't rinse the garbanzo beans (reserved a lot of the flavor, I think) and I mashed them with a potato masher. Instead of using regular mayo, I used Nayasoya Nayonnaise (vegan soy mayo--has 35 calories instead of 100 like regular mayo) instead of the regular stuff. Tasted great! I think a little celery and cumin would also taste good in there. Will try that next time. And there will definately be a next time! Thanks Carole! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
We had it in a sandwich and, while it certainly looks like tuna salad, and the consistency is pretty similar, it does not taste 'just like tuna.' Maybe it's because I eat canned tuna in sandwiches at least once a week, but I would never ever ever be fooled into thinking that this was real tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
So good! How have I been vegetarian for 8 years, and never tried something so simple? Like most people, I changed the recipe to accommodate my taste and what I had on hand. I substituted sweet onion mustard and dill relish, left out the onions, and added a good dash of lemon juice, garlic salt, and Morton's Nature's Seasoning. The lemon juice really adds some zip to it. I don't think this is ever going to make it's way to a sandwich though...I'm eating it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
It has its own unique flavor. The chickpeas need to really be mashed well, so use a blender. Add plenty of celery and onion, salt and pepper, and even sliced grapes and pecans, and it makes a nice summer sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Surprisingly good! A keeper! Easy & tasty. A cross between tuna and egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
It doesn't taste exactly like tuna salad but it sure kills the cravings! Actually, I even think I like this better than real tuna salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Though I don't think it really tastes like tuna salad, this is still an awesome recipe! It's soo simple, and tastes really good as a sandwich! I showed it to my mom a while back and I guess she must have loved how easy it was to make, because she started to make these sandwiches for us over and over and over...:), but I still like them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States