Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! Takes minutes to make and is so good on crackers, I could eat the whole batch in one sitting! Doesn't taste like tuna salad to me, but since I don't like tuna salad all that much, that was not a bad thing! I ran out of chick peas and tried with it white beans instead and it was good too. Prefer the texture when I made with a potato masher as instead of in a food processor (and it was less clean up!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This dish wasn't bad but it was interesting. Very tangy and more of the consistency of potato salad than tuna. Not bad, but probably nothing I would crave again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Made this vegan with vegan mayo. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
better than tuna salad, no gross tuna can smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this recipe. It can be eaten in a sandwich, on crackers, stuffed in celery, or straight up. So good and good for you. It tastes like a tuna or egg salad sandwich in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Folck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great recipe! Gotta love mock tuna. I microwave my drained chickpeas for 3 minutes first to make them easier to mash, and I add some Sriracha hotsauce to give it some bite. I think the sweet pickle relish is a really important part of this... you could definitely add more or less mayo to your own tastes but the relish is what makes it taste like tuna. Yum! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
While this doesn't really taste like tuna salad to me, I do love it. Lots. Inexpensive and a decent source of protein. I mash the beans with a fork rather than using a blender because I enjoy the texture. Yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I did not expect to like this, but I loved it!! Had it for dinner last night and again for lunch today. I use low sodium chickpeas and I rinse them off before making the salad. I also used a garlic mustard. I intend to serve this to friends:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious! Easy! Healthy! What more could a person want. I use chap red onion because I love em. Also, Canola Mayo. I've been gradually switching to a Vegitarian diet and finding things to brown bag to work has been a challenge. This is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I don't care what you call this dip, it is just delicious. It does remind me of tuna and/or egg salad, both of which are great, but not always very healthy. But this dip is great on bread or as a dip. Right now I can't get enough of it and the best thing, it took less than 5 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States