Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
WOW!! This was so yummy!! Just finished eating it for dinner. A great way to try chickpeas for the first time. I made it into a lettuce wrap with some tomato and red onion--perfect! I used plain yogurt in place of mayo,added some thai chiles,omitted the salt, and used dry chickpeas that I had cooked up instead of canned. Followed the recipe otherwise. You can pretty much do anything to it that you would normally do to tuna salad. Doesn't really taste like tuna but it definitely has the same consistency as tuna. Next time I will throw the chickpeas in my food processor instead of mashing. This was delicious, and I will keep chickpeas on hand all the time for a quick, yummy lunch. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is just amazing! I was a bit sceptical at first, but I am a gluten free ovo-vegan and I was missing tuna so much! I'm veggie by choice but dairy free gluten free by needs! This was absolutely wonderful. This will be my staple lunch from now on. It was so easy, and I blended mine up in a food processor for good measure, plus that way you don't have to cut onion. I used red onion instead of green since tuna salad isn't tuna salad without red onion for me, and I didn't have relish so I had to skip that, but it is just divine! My mouth is salivating at the thought of the yummy sandwich I'll be munching on in a couple minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious! I love tuna salad, and this would never be a replacement for that, but it is super-tasty and a great new option for lunch. I tasted it after following the directions (using a potato masher for the beans as recommended by a few reviewers), and it was excellent. Then I decided to modify it a bit for my tastes. I added curry powder--probably 1/2 tsp or so--and some toasted sesame seeds and I am very happy with the results. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wow! I cannot believe how much I liked this. I love tuna salad and am not vegetarian, but like some variety in foods. I'm not a huge fan of chickpeas usually so I was wary. I really enjoyed this on a toasted pita. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Excellent! Doubled the recipe...served on whole wheat ciabotta rolls with sliced red Jersey tomatoes and sliced ripe avacado.....Loved this and so did hubby.....nice and healthy and very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Great vegetarian lunch! Mashing all the beans with the fork was hard, but definitely worth the effort. (I probably burned off enough calories for what I was about to eat. Seriously.) I didn't use the sweet pickle relish because I'm not a fan of it, but other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. We had ours in lettuce wraps aside a bowl of cold cucumber soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kkfaye

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious and healthy! I have made this several times and change it up each time -- I like some crunch so I add chopped celery and sunflower seeds. Dill weed is a nice spice to add. My vegan BF loves this with vegan mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucycork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This does taste strangely similar to tuna, but has a very strange flavour I didn't like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i am vegetarian so i still use eggs and prepared this as i would have tuna salad with miracle whip, eggs, relish, as my basics i did experiment with the mustard, salt and seasoned salt - and will try green onions next time - my fam thought they were eating the real thing and thoroughly enjoyed it Can be used as a dip or when eating as sandwich try placing a slice or two of tomato and yum yum thank u its pretty economical too better than buying meat substitutes for your childs lunch etc . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Like others I agree this does not taste like tuna, but similar to tuna SALAD. I made it how I usually make tuna salad (no sweet pickle relish, but dill). I also put the cheakpeas in the blender and added a little water so it wasn't so dry. Overall a tasty sandwhich spread and a decent alternative to tuna SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States