Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Made this for 1st time tonite. The chickpeas are hard to mash & so I warmed them first & that seemed to help. May use less mayo next time & try some celery in it since I like celery in tuna. Not too bad tho - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Needs more flavor / salt. Kinda like a hummus filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm shocked at how great this tasted! It did not taste like tuna, but I actually prefer this to tuna! It was just as easy as making tuna as well. I'm very happy to find this alternative. I recently became a vegetarian and sandwiches are my favorite food, so it's been a little hard. I get tired of cucumber and tomato after awhile. I'll be making this weekly now, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is SO tasty! I've been a vegetarian for 10 years and have never tried something like this. I blended it all in my food processor and it turned out great! I used dijon mustard because that's all I had...spicy and delish served on toast. This makes about 4 sandwhiches for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I had given up meat for Lent, so I decided to search for some veggie recipes that’d satisfy my cravings. I didn’t have any high expectations coming into this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised! This Mock Tuna Salad was really delicious!! Totally reminded me the flavors of tuna salad. The texture is different though, but I still enjoyed it nonetheless. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly but used most of the same ingredients. I used a 15oz can of garbanzo beans, 4 tbs. of light mayo, 2 tbs. of light Greek yogurt, 2 stalks of celery (I like the crunch!), 3tbs. of diced onion, 1 tbs. of relish and ½ tbs. of mustard, and salt and pepper to taste. I drained the garbanzo beans and mashed them in a bowl with a fork. I think using a blender or a food processor would be too much; mashing them with a fork gave it a nice texture. My dad thought it was awesome, and my little sister really liked it as well. She said it reminded her of egg salad. I might add in chopped hard boiled egg next time! Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I added cheese and turned it into a tuna melt. My meat eating husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Yum! I really liked this. I did add some garlic and some lemom juice. I omitted the green onion. I just didnt have any. I also used a blender, which did not work too well bec this is sortof thick so it had a hard time blending. I had this with some whole wheat crackers. Next time I'll try this with greek yogurt to make this super healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I used a pastry cutter to rough cut the garbanzo beans so they would still have some texture. I left out the mustard but will be trying different types in the future. I did add my usual celery and white onion. Served on Korean Pop-Pan (spring onion flavor) crackers with red leaf lettuce and garnished with green onion tops. I'm thinking minced jalapeno sounds like a good addition. Edit: made with spicy deli mustard, added broiled Swiss cheese and half a diced avocado then drizzled with horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Not quite like tuna salad, but still so delicious! I made a few adjustments to suit my own tastes (left out the relish, added some Sriracha sauce), but all in all, it was great. I would suggest that one uses a food processor or a potato masher to mash the chickpeas. I tried it with a fork at first (silly me!) and, boy, was that tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyVegetarian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is great!! I have a mini processor and I just toss everything together in there and voila! I do add a pinch of hot sauce but that's just because I like most things to be a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardiner, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States