Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awesome thanks so much for the recipe. I eyeballed all the condiments and probably used more than two tbsp mayo if I measured. This is good! My husband is allergic to tuna and he was nervous that I was serving tuna to him until I explained what is in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is great! Perfect “tuna” salad without fishy smell. I liked spicy food so I added spicy mayo, spicy relish and little bit of celery. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
It needed nori or Atlantic laver flakes (types of seaweed) to taste convincing. Sometimes I use a little lemon juice instead of the mustard. It's good either way. I wonder if it would work using drained and crumbled tofu instead of chickpeas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Delicious, nutricious, and economical. Try it with tomato slices. Add chopped boiled egg. Have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I completely tweaked this recipe and it was pretty descent. There is a similar recipe on the site, but it uses lots of celery and onion and I was looking for one that didn't. I used only 1 Tblsp. of lite mayo, left out the mustard and relish, and used some minced red onion in place of the green onion. I also mashed in one avacado after seeing a recipe on-line that combined the two to stretch the recipe. I ate it on oatmeal bread. It was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Made this for 1st time tonite. The chickpeas are hard to mash & so I warmed them first & that seemed to help. May use less mayo next time & try some celery in it since I like celery in tuna. Not too bad tho - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Needs more flavor / salt. Kinda like a hummus filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm shocked at how great this tasted! It did not taste like tuna, but I actually prefer this to tuna! It was just as easy as making tuna as well. I'm very happy to find this alternative. I recently became a vegetarian and sandwiches are my favorite food, so it's been a little hard. I get tired of cucumber and tomato after awhile. I'll be making this weekly now, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is SO tasty! I've been a vegetarian for 10 years and have never tried something like this. I blended it all in my food processor and it turned out great! I used dijon mustard because that's all I had...spicy and delish served on toast. This makes about 4 sandwhiches for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I had given up meat for Lent, so I decided to search for some veggie recipes that’d satisfy my cravings. I didn’t have any high expectations coming into this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised! This Mock Tuna Salad was really delicious!! Totally reminded me the flavors of tuna salad. The texture is different though, but I still enjoyed it nonetheless. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly but used most of the same ingredients. I used a 15oz can of garbanzo beans, 4 tbs. of light mayo, 2 tbs. of light Greek yogurt, 2 stalks of celery (I like the crunch!), 3tbs. of diced onion, 1 tbs. of relish and ½ tbs. of mustard, and salt and pepper to taste. I drained the garbanzo beans and mashed them in a bowl with a fork. I think using a blender or a food processor would be too much; mashing them with a fork gave it a nice texture. My dad thought it was awesome, and my little sister really liked it as well. She said it reminded her of egg salad. I might add in chopped hard boiled egg next time! Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States