Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made the recipe as written but later went back and added more pickle relish and mayo. Nice flavor but recommend mashing the chickpeas thoroughly or they won't stay in the sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awesome thanks so much for the recipe. I eyeballed all the condiments and probably used more than two tbsp mayo if I measured. This is good! My husband is allergic to tuna and he was nervous that I was serving tuna to him until I explained what is in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is great! Perfect “tuna” salad without fishy smell. I liked spicy food so I added spicy mayo, spicy relish and little bit of celery. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
It needed nori or Atlantic laver flakes (types of seaweed) to taste convincing. Sometimes I use a little lemon juice instead of the mustard. It's good either way. I wonder if it would work using drained and crumbled tofu instead of chickpeas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Delicious, nutricious, and economical. Try it with tomato slices. Add chopped boiled egg. Have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I completely tweaked this recipe and it was pretty descent. There is a similar recipe on the site, but it uses lots of celery and onion and I was looking for one that didn't. I used only 1 Tblsp. of lite mayo, left out the mustard and relish, and used some minced red onion in place of the green onion. I also mashed in one avacado after seeing a recipe on-line that combined the two to stretch the recipe. I ate it on oatmeal bread. It was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Made this for 1st time tonite. The chickpeas are hard to mash & so I warmed them first & that seemed to help. May use less mayo next time & try some celery in it since I like celery in tuna. Not too bad tho - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Needs more flavor / salt. Kinda like a hummus filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm shocked at how great this tasted! It did not taste like tuna, but I actually prefer this to tuna! It was just as easy as making tuna as well. I'm very happy to find this alternative. I recently became a vegetarian and sandwiches are my favorite food, so it's been a little hard. I get tired of cucumber and tomato after awhile. I'll be making this weekly now, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is SO tasty! I've been a vegetarian for 10 years and have never tried something like this. I blended it all in my food processor and it turned out great! I used dijon mustard because that's all I had...spicy and delish served on toast. This makes about 4 sandwhiches for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States