Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I love this simple delicious recipe. I used vegan mayo and it was just perfect. I don't want to change anything or add anything. It's a home run with my whole family. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
wow -- who knew!!! i was skeptical this would truly remind me of tuna salad, but it DID! I occaisonally do a 21 day cleanse and don't eat any animal products, sugar, caffeine, alcohol, gluten (yeah, sounds fun!!!) so this satisfied my cravings on many levels...i've also tried the version made with tempeh as well...not sure which is my fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malibumermaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Pretty good :). I spread the mixture onto pieces of bread, covered them with cheese, and made a sort of "Mock Tuna Melt". I have been a vegetarian for 9 yrs and didn't think this tasted like the tuna I rememberd. However, I very much enjoyed the taste and will make it again. I should probably say I used yellow mustard instead of spicy brown and I think that may have been a mistake. Next time I will use spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is one of my all time favorites!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Wonderfully delicious and healthy! I did not expect a true tuna taste, but was surprised by the similarity (most likely from the relish). Tasty additions include garlic, white onion and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I used another reviewer's suggestion of adding some bean juice from the can. I think I used too much because it got a little runny. But even though it was runny, it was still really good. Great on rice cakes with sliced tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I thought this was really great. It's funny how all of the ingredients of tuna salad can make anything taste like tuna - without the fishy flavor that some people don't like. I always cut back on the mayo, but otherwise prepared as is. Spread on rice cakes for a great, light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Absolutely scrumptious!!! I've been vegetarian for 9 years and I sometimes craved tuna- this is so delicious and filling! I prepared it just as I would have prepared tuna in the past, with mayo, finely diced celery and tomato. It tastes so tuna-like that my fiance who hates tuna won't eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinaLin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I don't like tuna, but I wanted to try this anyway considering it had none. I love this recipe, though I did add a couple more spoonfuls of mayonnaise (mixed half cains and half cains light) than what it called for. I like my spreads to be creamy. I had it on whole wheat bread with romaine lettuce. Would defiitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I have made this several times served on toasted bread, also served on Ritz Town House Crackers. This does not taste anything like tuna, but after letting it chill overnight in the refrigerator, I found the next day, that this did smell a bit like tuna. When I assembled the ingredients together, first I used a potato masher to mash the chick peas, but I only used 1-(15.8 oz.) can of the chick peas. I then added 4 tablespoons of Kraft Mayonnasie, 1-1/ 2 teaspoons of the spicy brown mustard, as I thought the 2 teaspoons was a bit too much, plus I added 3 tablespoons of the sweet relish. I didn't have any green onions, so I just added 1 tablespoon of yellow minced onion, and I thought that was plenty of onion. I did add a dash of salt & pepper as well. In all this wasn't too bad, and it's a good replacement for tuna; especially during Lent, since I don't eat meat on Fridays. One more thing I wanted to add, I found this does keep well for days in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Displaying results 131-140 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States