Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
doesn't taste like tuna, more like just a bean salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was pretty good and I can see how it resembles tuna. When I first made it i tried mashing the beans with a potato masher to give a meatier texture. That was kind of awful. The flavor was good, but it was very gritty. I put the beans in a food processor next time and made it into a paste. Then it was good! I added a little extra pickles and onions for texture and 2 boiled eggs! I really enjoyed it then! (P.S. I am not a vegetarian, I just try to not eat meat everyday)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcole63301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome! Doesn't remind me of tuna, but it's sooooo good! I added minced garlic and lemon juice, used Miracle Whip instead of mayo...Great recipe idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Really love this recipe! I used a potato masher to get "tuna" consistency but a pastry cutter might work even better. The flavors make for just the right amount of tanginess. I definitely wouldn't leave out the green onions -- they give great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Really bland. I added alot of "horsey" sauce to it to kick it up. I'll stick to making hummus. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I thought this recipe was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmn15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe because I love tuna salad, but this was rather bland. I followed directions exactly, and mine only tasted like mashed up chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This tastes almost exactly like tuna salad. I like celery so I added a stalk. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Incredible! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Amazing! I am not a vegetarian, but I love chick peas and this recipe intrigued me. I will definitely make again. My kids liked it as well. I substituted a 1/2 tsp. dry mustard for the spicy brown mustard and used a small white onion in place of the green onions. I also added two hard boiled eggs and some diced celery. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States