Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
IF I could give this 3.5 stars, I would. The reviewers are correct - make this like you like your tuna salad and start with the recommended amount of mustard and mayo. I used chives in place of the green onions, diced dill pickles instead of the sweet relish and more than called for, and added a rib of diced celery. I wasn't expecting this to taste exactly like tuna salad so I wasn't surprised it didn't. That said, it is a decent options for those vegetarians in the family when the rest are having chicken or tuna salad. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Excellent and a great meat substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I've been a vegetarian for about 20 years and did miss tuna melts and sandwiches. I was skeptical of this recipe but am certainly glad I tried it! It will not taste exactly like tuna salad if that is what you are looking for but is definitely a great replacement if you don't eat tuna or want to try something a little different. I used my potato masher to mash up the chickpeas and that works pretty well. Can add whatever ingredients you would normally add to tuna salad in the ratio you desire. I've made twice in the last couple of weeks and it is great for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is unbelievable. I would never have thought that chick peas would taste like tuna fish. It is incredible. I'm new to the vegan world and have been so worried about how I would manage taking lunch to work, especially when you have to walk a mile to find a microwave. Thank you so much. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. Next time, I will add some green peppers. This is my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It's crazy how much this tastes exactly like tuna! My BF who needs meat/protein at every meal is even a fan. This is a weekly staple in our lunch menu. Easy to make and transport to work without the fishy smell of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great . Quick & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I make this all the time but I put some shredded nori wraps in for addition flavor. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
VERY good mock tuna salad, I have made few iterations of mock tuna salad and this one tastes the closest to the real deal! I also add black olives personally which adds a nice saltiness to this already perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleiJ
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I think this was delicious! I had all my coworkers try it (one is vegetarian, others are not) and they asked for the recipe! I liked all the other review suggestions, and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
AWesOme!! I added fresh dill, vegan mayo, fresh lemon juice, and some paprika. I'm so glad to have this now!! I also processed the beans really well until crumbly. The mixture consistency is similar to deviled egg filling or egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States