Mock Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I decreased the sugar by 1 cup. It was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This recipe is like eating lumpy Jello. We tried it and didn't like it. Sorry I wasted good zucchini on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Great and easy! I used raspberry jello in place of the strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I have made this several times its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Appleton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Soooooo very good! I modified the recipe in two ways: 1. Decreased sugar to 4 cups and 2. After peeling and shredding zucchini, I put through my blender on puree and then placed into pan with sugar. Just my preference on not having stringy jam - very nice consistency this way. Oh - and don't tell anyone it's zucchini until after they RAVE about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WJH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This turned out really good. Next time I may puree a little more - but my family did not know that difference - will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
WOW, This was so easy and delish!! It did take longer that 10 minutes to get this to boil though. First time jarring too. Thank you Patricia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
12 Quarts of tasty Strawberry syrup and 3 quarts of jelly. You must use pectin with this recipe if you desire jelly and it must come to a rolling boil for at least five minutes, but mine took much longer. Check for set. I love the flavor. I didn't seed my zucchini, though I did puree it. I added a couple drops of blue food coloring in one batch for deeper color, and used crab apple pectin in one batch that lent a deeper color. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I read through the reviews before I attempted this recipe. I appreciate those who went before me and provided their tips so I knew what to do before I made it. I cut this recipe in half BUT I cut the sugar back twice so for a half recipe, I only used about a cup of sugar. After I'd cooked the zucchini with the sugar and it'd boiled, I cooled it a bit and then stuck the mixture in my blender and really blended it down to a thin almost soupy consistancy. I then added it back to the saucepan, re-warmed it, then stirred in the lemon juice and gelatin. After all is said and done, I think this was a fun recipe to make with on hand ingredients to make a quick freezer jam, but for us, it really wasn't a home run. There's nothing wrong with the recipe, it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This worked great for me. The only change I made (based on other recipes I has read while searching for recipes) was to grind the zucchini instead of shredding/grating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States