Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Super yum! I ommitted the bread crumbs and it was still super tasty! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I thought that the recipe was excellent. Unfortunately, I took the advice of a fish monger and thought that I had rinsed all the salt off and hadn't. Wow! Salty! Of course it in no way reflects the recipe. The reasons for the 4-star rating were threefold. First, it had the texture of lobster but lacked the sweet taste. However, it was quite delicious DESPITE not getting all the salt off. The second is that the recipe does not mention removing the blue membrane. I read about that on the fish monger's site. It does need to be removed. The third is the timing is way off. I removed as much membrane as I could, probably 80-85%. The pieces were not that thick and it still took 40 minutes to cook. I do highly recommend this recipe -- the butter and seasonings plus the breadcrumbs -- YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jheni77
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Really enjoyed this quick crisp outside but buttery inside dish for dinner. Very similar taste and texture to lobster. Easy to make and not greasy/oily at all. Perfect with rice pilaf and veg side. Definitely will make again but next time will add a bit of lemon in with the butter and a pinch of chives. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jheni77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow, but I have to agree that the time seems to be quite far off. The flavors were really good, and though it isn't exactly lobster, the flavor is close and the texture is very similar. My family really enjoyed this. There is a membrane on this fish and it would have turned out better if I had trimmed more of it off. Brushing butter and spice blend on the fish is a terrific way of keeping the fish moist and adding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Monkfish, the poor man's lobster, according to my fish mongerer, tasted very similar to lobster almost better in my eyes. I would have never decided to make this if I had not seen the fish at at the counter. After removing the membrane from the fish i seasoned both sides with coasher salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Then put them on some parchment paper and covered them with melted butter and lemon. While they were in the oven I melted some butter and added coasher salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, and lemon to create a sauce. Then plated the fish on top of some risotto with carrots and spooned the sauce on top of that. Extremely delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was just okay by my families tastes, but what an intriguing idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was pretty good.I used Alaskan Pollock. I didn't have butter,so I substituted olive oil and butter flavoring.My husband doesn't like alot of pepper, so I omitted it. Baked for 20 min.I'd make this again,definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
very tasty. I didn't have monk fish so I used pollock instead. This has lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I made this more than once following the exact recipe each time. The monkfish tasted nothing like lobster and it was tough - even after 45 minutes in my oven! The overall texture of the fish may be lobster-like, but the flavor lacks the sweetness of lobster. The seasoned melted butter is very good and would work well with other types of fish. However, I will not be making this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States