Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I think it is unrealistic to expect it to taste "just like" lobster. Of course it doesn't. But it IS a similar taste and the texture is good too. It was tender and delicious. IF your favorite way to eat lobster is diped in melted butter, and IF it is a treat that you simply can't afford very often, I think you will thoroughly enjoy this recipe as a substitute. With boneless chicken breasts on sale so often, this is absolutely a perfect way to serve them. We cooked them on a grill, and just until done, which was about 20 minutes as the recipe said, turning them often. I think the smokey flavor helped. We marinated the chicken only about two hours-- next time I might marinate over night. EVEN if you just think this tastes like chicken, it is EXCELLENT chicken. I would absolutely recommend it and absolutely recommend savoring each bite dripping with melted butter. YUM. Thanks to the person who posted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
We loved this chicken! It didn't REALLY taste like lobster, but the marinade was excellent, the chicken juicy, and I liked the butter dipping idea. I did bake mine for 30 minutes at 350. Husband suggests next time a little Old Bay seasoning for more of the seafood taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Oh my! Absolutely loved it! I prepared this yesterday for my family..hubby and grown sons..and got rave reviews from them all. I followed the recipe exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. The only thing I did, that wasn't stipulated in the recipe, was give the chicken breasts a bit of a pounding to further tenderize before marinating, but not enough to flatten. The descriptive words that were passed around the table were: MMMMM, Delicious, Soooo tender & juicy, WOW thats fantastic, don't lose that recipe. I discovered that a tin of pineapple tidbits has just the required 1/2 cup of pineapple juice in it (so I didn't have to go out to buy the juice) and I used the pineapple tidbits in a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
You have GOT to try this!!! The chicken is excellant - it sounds weird to did it into butter but wow is it good! I will be making this several times. I did marinate for 24 hours so the flavor really carried all the way through. This is a don't miss! I am not getting into if it tastes like lobster - who cares - it tastes great and that is all my family cares about! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My man fell in love with me all over again. I only had boneless skinless thighs, but they soak up the marinade just fine. I've never cooked a marinade before, but I'm thinking this will be the new standard recipe I use. Takes more time, but worth it...and the butter was a wonderful (if sinful) touch. Works great on kebabs too! UPDATE: just want to say that I use this recipe all the time and it always turns out scrumptious. Tonight it was blsl thighs and bone in drumsticks. DBF asked if I had put bacon in the marinade :D heehee! I did make one sub this time; used the juice from a jar of Dole tropical fruit in juice instead of straight up pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I've been using this marinade all winter. I actually thought I'd already rated it. Depending on how much chicken I am preparing, depends on how much oil I add to the marinade. Overall, I'm sure I use less. I used garlic powder and added no more salt to the recipe than is in the soy sauce. This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I've broiled it and am looking forward to grilling it this summer. When I take BLSL breasts out of the freezer, I add the marinade to the frozen breasts and let it thaw in the marinade. Very tasty! The melted butter dip contributes to the "illusion" of lobster, and is very good. But not necessary to enjoy this dish. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was FABULOUS! Now, as far as it tasting like lobster...it tasted like lobster kind of like grilled portabellas taste like steak...every now and again you get a bite where you can *see* it, but otherwise, not so much. However, that doesn't mean it doesn't taste GREAT! My only *complaint* is it was a bit salty (which is so weird for ME to say...Mr. LTH looked at me like I was nuts when I said that out loud)!; I think next time (yes, there WILL be a next time) I will use reduced sodium soy sauce. THANKS for a great recipe! Oh, I cooked the marinade in the morning & put the chicken in the frig to marinate all day (about 12 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought this chicken was excellent! It does have a similar taste and texture to lobster when dipped in butter. I made this last week and am making it again tonight because even my picky husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I only gave it a 4 becasue I changed it but it is very good and will make this often. I changed soy to 1/4 cup, vegatable oil to olive 1/8 cup, garlic salt to garlic powder (soy has plenty of salt) and 2 breast an 4 skinlees legs becasue my husband likes dark meat. Put them on the outside grill and yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States