Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was delicious. As for tasting like lobster,not really. However it did taste great! I used reduced sodium soy sauce, other than that followed the recipe exactly. I let it marinate about eight hours, turned out juicy and flavorful. This was easy and I will definetly make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was FABULOUS! Now, as far as it tasting like lobster...it tasted like lobster kind of like grilled portabellas taste like steak...every now and again you get a bite where you can *see* it, but otherwise, not so much. However, that doesn't mean it doesn't taste GREAT! My only *complaint* is it was a bit salty (which is so weird for ME to say...Mr. LTH looked at me like I was nuts when I said that out loud)!; I think next time (yes, there WILL be a next time) I will use reduced sodium soy sauce. THANKS for a great recipe! Oh, I cooked the marinade in the morning & put the chicken in the frig to marinate all day (about 12 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I used the exact ingredients called for. Made chicken breasts and thighs. The only thing different was I seared the meat for a few minutes before placing in the oven. (It was raining and I couldn't use the grill.) My daughter said that the breast did indeed taste like lobster dipped in butter and the meat was so tender. I ate the thighs but did not dip those in butter. The skin on the thighs tasted like a Hawaiian dish. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Great grilling recipe, turned out AWESOME, will use again in the near future, didn't taste to me like lobster although the tenderness of the white meat chicken breast and being as juicy as it was, was a real treat. A must try for anyone looking for juicy white meat chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Oh my! Absolutely loved it! I prepared this yesterday for my family..hubby and grown sons..and got rave reviews from them all. I followed the recipe exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. The only thing I did, that wasn't stipulated in the recipe, was give the chicken breasts a bit of a pounding to further tenderize before marinating, but not enough to flatten. The descriptive words that were passed around the table were: MMMMM, Delicious, Soooo tender & juicy, WOW thats fantastic, don't lose that recipe. I discovered that a tin of pineapple tidbits has just the required 1/2 cup of pineapple juice in it (so I didn't have to go out to buy the juice) and I used the pineapple tidbits in a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is my new favorite way to grill chicken. I first tried this "lobster" this summer and don't know if it was the marinade, the cooking on low on the grill or the combination of the two, but everyone in my family love, love, loved this chicken! Now ,I don't know if it actually had a lobster taste at all, but that's beside the point, this is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmysnacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow, this was really a delightful surprise. When I try a new recipe my husband usually says "It's OK". Not this time. He just kept eating and in between bites saying "It's like an illusion. By the way, I broiled the chicken instead of grilling and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Does it taste like lobster? No. But was it fantastically delicious? Yes! Soy sauce is plenty enough salt, so I used garlic powder in place of garlic salt, and am still thirsty, hours after eating. We did dip this in melted clarified butter. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Loved it! Didn't get the Lobster taste, but then I didn't have pineapple juice. Used orange juice instead. We we'll be having this again! Tender and juicy on the inside, crunchy on the the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My man fell in love with me all over again. I only had boneless skinless thighs, but they soak up the marinade just fine. I've never cooked a marinade before, but I'm thinking this will be the new standard recipe I use. Takes more time, but worth it...and the butter was a wonderful (if sinful) touch. Works great on kebabs too! UPDATE: just want to say that I use this recipe all the time and it always turns out scrumptious. Tonight it was blsl thighs and bone in drumsticks. DBF asked if I had put bacon in the marinade :D heehee! I did make one sub this time; used the juice from a jar of Dole tropical fruit in juice instead of straight up pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Lobster Newberg

See how to make a shockingly simple, rich lobster dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States