Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Love this. Doesn't taste like lobster but it's a fabulous marinade for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Though this was a very tasty recipe, I did not get the "lobster" effect at all. I had the feeling it wouldn't as I went over the ingredient list because this is very similar to the Teriyaki recipes I prepare. I like this recipe, however. It went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Delicious! I marinated the chicken for a little over two hours, after cutting the breasts lengthwise in half (forming lobster tail-shaped pieces!). Longer may have resulted in its being too salty, given both soy sauce and garlic SALT (not powder). Dipping in melted butter is what takes this over the top! I think the marinade, possibly the pineapple juice, gives the chicken a hint of sweetness and a velvety texture, which brings lobster to mind. Loved this recipe and will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I added half the salt asked for but my wife and I still found this to be very salty. However, the kids still enjoyed it. We're big fans of lobster and have it often. Originally we'd always have it steamed but we have since moved on to grilling it (stuffed lobster), broiling the tails, and lobster thermidor. The texture and flavor of this was nothing like any lobster we've ever had. In the future I'm going to cut back on the soy and omit the salt (using only garlic powder). It can be a great marinade but associating it with lobster just leads to an immediate disappointment (for us, at least). Also, I served it with my usual style of clarified butter for lobster-- a splash of lemon juice, dash of paprika, and pinch of pepper. Definitely be sure to use unsalted butter for this recipe, or cut back even more on the soy sauce/use a reduced sodium one. I used regular Kikoman soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmartinek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Very tasty. Although it tastes more like teriyaki chicken than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The first time I made this,I only marinaded it for two hours,it tasted like good chicken.The next time I left it overnight,big difference,I can see how the taste is closely similar to lobster,I'm keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. It doesn't taste alot like mock lobster but still has a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Fifty stars!!!!!! This is really delicious, in fact, it is one of my daughters favorite meal. I think it does taste like lobster; but my daughter does not. It is in our rotation and we make it often. Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States