Mock Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
The first time I made this cake, the frosting was too viscous; I might have misread the amounts for ingredients. The second time I made the cake, everything was perfect. Instead of using 16 oz. of whip cream, I just used the mixture of pudding, milk, and 8 oz. whip cream to frost the 2 9" layers and the sides of the cake. I also used lemon cake instead of white. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter and got rave reviews. Definitely a recipe I will keep and make over and over again. I used light mayo (even though I was skeptical of putting mayo in my cake), it turned out really moist. The lemony whipped topping provided for a very light and refreshing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
The taste is what saved this cake for me. 1st, make sure you read ALL the steps (i didn't read ahead, just followed the steps in order), my first mistake was mixing both boxes of pudding in with the cake mix (I used lemon cake, mayo). When I got to the 2nd step for the filling, I was like what pudding? Anyways I went to the store and got another box of lemon pudding for the whipped topping filling. So the cake wound up having an extra box of pudding in it. The filling was so runny that it would not set up and the cakes were sliding around. It wound up looking like an avalanche. But it was delicious. If I were to make it again I would fill it differently, maybe use real whipped cream instead of whipped topping or a whipped cream/cream cheese combo with the lemon pudding. But the lemon/strawberry combo is very good and the actual cake itself was dense and moist and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8BARRSTREET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I made this cake last night & used some of the suggestions from the past reviews. For the cake I used a lemon cake mix & vanilla instant pudding. I made the filling as the recipe reads, but used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting recipe from this site to frost the sides instead of just whipped topping. This is one of the best cakes I have ever made. I was hesitant about using mayo in the cake instead of oil, but it was outstanding! This cake was super-moist & I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsKatt
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I used a lemon cake mix instead of white, I wanted a more lemony flavor. I also used mayonnaise instead oil. Turned out perfectly! Nice, refreshing summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Was a great Easter dessert. The family loved it and had seconds. I made it just as it reads, with the mayo instead of oil. Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Made a delicious birthday cake for my boyfriend. Used light mayo substitute, all sugar-free vanilla puddings, lite whipped topping, and fresh strawberries. Turned out great. Guests wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Oh My! This was AMAZING! Definately the best cake I've ever tasted! I accidently picked up frozen strawberries instead of fresh, but simply drain them well and they worked just as good. I am definately putting this into my permanent recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
5 Stars! This holds a permanent place in my recipe file! I've made it several times, it's perfect for baby & bridal showers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States