Mock Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good and light! I goofed with adding the wrong puddings at the wrong times bc the instructions were a little unclear, but sufficed with adding lemon juice where I felt the lemon flavor lacked (from me putting vanilla pudding in the wrong places lol). Thumbs up in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina M Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Made this for Mothers Day .....REALLY nice recipe !! I used Lemon Pudding mix in the frosting as well and will try different fruit over time but the strawberries were very good. The texture of the the frosting is truly divine. Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I love lemon desserts! For special cakes that call for added instant pudding or Jello, I always use Duncan hines cake mixes with NO pudding in the mix. Such as Blackberry Wine cake that calls for white cake mix. The results are always better. Thanks for sharing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
very light and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
My only concern with this cake was the layers sliding, especially when cutting into it. But letting it sit in the refrigerator for a few hours made the cake stable enough to cut into it without any problems. The cake was wonderful looking, and the family enjoyed it. This one is best eaten the day it is made. In the days following, it became a little soggy, as the strawberries were weeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These was really light, refreshing, and tasty. I used a lemon cake, with vanilla pudding and used mayo in place of oil like suggested. I mixed the lemon pudding with the whipped topping and put it in the fridge for an hour before frosting. It was a great cake, and got many compliments. But I was hoping for it to be a little more moist. It was really moist, but I was kind of hoping with the mayo and pudding it was going to be almost as moist at a tres leches cake. I think I had too high of expectations. I MAY try applesauce in place of oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mullan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I found this recipe when my daughter wanted a lemon cake for her birthday. Huge hit! I've since made it for co-workers and both of my kids who have June birthdays are asking for it, too. I've made a small change simply be accident, because my husband picked up MY*T*Fine brand lemon pie filling instead of instant lemon pudding. I decided to try to work with it, mixing with 1/2 c sugar and 1c water, then cooking until thick. It made a very simple mock lemon curd, which worked wonderfully mixed with the whipped topping. The second time I made it I used the instant lemon pudding and it wasn't nearly as good or as thick and easy to work with. The error was a wonderful success and I won't do it any other way now. This is one of the best summer cakes I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was easy and the lemon and strawberry taste so good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Love this recipe. I like to use a lemon cake mix with the vanilla pudding and mayonnaise in lieu of oil. I also use less milk for the filling and just mix the filling and whipped cream together and use this for both the filling and frosting. The tips to dry the strawberries first is a lifesaver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle Stafford
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Just some tips - use half-n-half instead of milk and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before frosting. This will give the pudding mixture time to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Stafford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States