Mock Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This recipe was easy to make. It tasted more like a meatloaf, that's what my husband and son thought it was when I served it. It tasted fine but nothing I would rave about, just a nice easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
We had these for dinner..wow!..hubby says once a week for this dinner..had to sub. ketchup (hubby allergies) for H2O..brown sugar with bacon just made these rock..very filling... but that's what we eat for..LOL..from Lynn's kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I made these for my kids and my parents and everyone really liked them. It reminded me of meatloaf, but the texture was a bit better, and the bacon gave them a little different flavor. My kids all say they hate meatloaf, but they loved having these individually. They will dry out quickly, though, if you cook them too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Husband really enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Meek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This recipe is an absolute winner - done on the (wood fueled) BBQ - it is a great meal for casual dining. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was definately something different. I enjoyed it and so did my husband...Other reviews say it's like meatloaf...taste nothing like my meatloaf....I didn't need as many helping as the recipe called for so I just made it all up and individually froze 3 of the portions...it will be nice for a quick meal in the future. I served with buttered egg noodles and beets. It was very moist and tender and had a nice flavor...Thanks for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harsens Island, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I made these last night for dinner, and they turned out great. The bacon and sauce gave them a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
These looked cute with the bacon wrapped around them acting as the "fat" of the "steak". I didn't have any breadcrumbs on hand, so didn't use them. I think the breadcrumbs would've given these a meatloafy flavor anyway(I hate meatloaf). So whenever I do make these, I will omit the breadcrumbs. Next time, I might use a different kind of sauce though. With just the dried mustard, it still just tasted like ketchup to me, so added prepared mustard. That part could use a little tweaking. Overall, not bad at all considering I had dinner on the table in less than 30 mins! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was just too much like a not so tasty meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is sooo good! An instant favorite and easy to make. I used seasoned bread crumbs and added a clove of garlic with the chopped onions, otherwise followed it exactly. The sauce is nice too, I'll make a little extra next time. This one is a family pleaser for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States