Mock Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Yes, these are a weird 'mock steak' but amazing little meatloaves - the hubby and I loved every single bite. With the broiler on high (and ours is a strip down the middle of the oven), the little patties near the flame and the sauce got scorched 5 inches from the heat (per the recipe) and were still raw-ish in the middle (we microwaved the rest of the way). Will move the rack down a notch next time and test with a meat thermometer. I didn't have a broiler pan or casserole, but used a lined jelly roll pan with a rack in it which worked great - so much fat rendered down into it. Also, since our burner was down the middle, we needed to flank the loaves on the rack on both sides of the burner instead of right under it to minimize the scorching. Doubled the recipe and got 10 little loaves, and followed the recipe (used 93/7 beef and glad I did) exactly except for the onions. Opted to serve the onions sauteed on the side which worked great. Only had 1 cup of breadcrumbs left which was fine but will try the full amount next time. After adding in the egg, the mix almost got too mushy/liquidy, but the patties stuck together fine and were moist. Really easy, really delicious - and a perfect 'cabinet meal' for us. Thank you to the reviewers that say this freezes great - I can't wait to try that for a quick freezer meal. Only needed 3/4 of the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Easy 5 stars! One of our favorite meals. I didn't have to change anything with the recipe and they were easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseNC
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Family approved! (DH, 10 & 3 yo) Made with ground turkey and turkey bacon. Used everything except shorted the breadcrumbs by 1/4c. Every recipe for ground beef/turkey seemed to be meatloaf, meatballs, burgers or chili, so this was a nice variation. ....however, and I am not sure if it was because it was turkey, but it really just tasted like great meatloaf. (But so much quicker to make!) The sauce for the top was fabulous, wish I had made a little extra for dipping. So be sure to get it all on the top, it is delicious and makes the meal! Very happy and already requested again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Did on BBQ. Family loved it. Basically a 5 star recipe. All of the ingredients inside the "steak". Used one egg , lots of bread crumbs, worshtishire, 1.5 pound made enough for 7 of us. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was good, although more like meatloaf than steak. We grilled them and I added a little Worcestershire and garlic salt to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
These weren't bad, but they weren't anything amazing either. Certainly not "filet-like", just a pretty decent bacon-wrapped burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was so good, so moist and delish! The bacon wrapped around it really makes it, only thing I didn't do was not make the ketchup sauce and I'm glad I didn't. You have all got to try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The flavor was good with a texture very similar to meatloaf. Overall, I found it to be too dry, and I suspect the 3/4 cup of breadcrumbs was the culprit. Perhaps reducing it to 1/2 cup may solve the dilemma... My husband and son approved of it, therefore, it will remain in the "once in a while" file. Overall, this is a solid 3 star recipe as written. Thank you for the submission POFELY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
individual meatloaf servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
easy and fast to make. It was very tasty great recipe. We made it with ground turkey and turkey bacon and but it on the grill. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States