Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I LOVE this pie. A dear friend gives me spaghetti squash from her garden every year, just so I will make this pie and bring it in to work. :) I added coconut extract instead of the vanilla and sprinkled a little shredded coconut on top. I took one reviewers advice and chopped the squash into smaller "threads." I love this cold for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Zeigler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was a really good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Only thing is, my 9" pie plate wouldn't hold it all so ended up making 2 pies! Wonderful flavor and next time I'm going to add the nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I should have followed other reviewers advice to shop the spaghetti squash. But the taste was delicious. We couldn't stop eating it and my daughters fought over the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this a week ago,made two using only 1 cup of spenda instead sugar 9 eggs only 3 with yolks everything else was the same.Was going to give 1 away guess what did`nt happen:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Tried it for the first time. Took to work, everyone was amazed. As I was too. will be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I added 2/3 cup of coconut and reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup. didn't add the additional optional spices (nutmeg and cinnamon). It came out great and actually tastes like coconut to the hubby doesn't know he is helping reduce the spaghetti squash bumper crop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kidcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Awesome! you do have to let the spaghetti squash sit in a bowl after you have scraped it longitudinally out of its shell. then pour off the water. instead of sugar i used spenda a sugar substitute and instead of whipped cream i used Liberty coconut yogurt.. totally AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great idea and here are my tweaks. I used 1/4 cup maple syrup instead of sugar as well as 1/4 cup of coconut milk and coconut oil instead of butter. Used vanilla and cinnamon as well. I cut the squash in half length ways and baked it cut side down on a baking sheet in the oven at 350 until very soft. Scooped it out and processed it in a food processor with all the ingredients. I made a piecrust with almond flour and coconut oil and then just poured it in and baked for about 60 mins. I then sprinkled coconut on top and baked another 10 mins until the coconut browned. I served it with coconut "whipping cream" ( Put two cans of coconut milk in the fridge to cool down thoroughly. Then scoop off the solid coconut and add some maple syrup to sweeten. I used about 1 teaspoon and add 1/4 teaspoon salt. Whip it with an electric mixer until soft peaks form and serve immediately. The pie had a lovely coconut flavour from the coconut oil and milk and the sweetness was just perfect. My family could not guess what the main ingredient was and thought it was a coconut pie. This is a really good guilt free dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reinette van Schalkwyk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States