Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Naomi
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I've never cooked with squash before tonight. Searched through & thought this recipe seemed interesting so I made it. Turns out it tasted great and was easy to make! I made a few changes to the recipe based on some of the prior reviews. First, I used a premade graham wafer crust. Then, I like others only used half the sugar the recipe called for. I also added a small amount (1/4c?) of sweetened coconut. I also mixed the cinnamon and nutmeg in with the egg mixture. I cut the squash shreds as suggested to make the slices easier to cut. In my oven 350 degrees for 40 mins was enough. Seemed a slight bit runny when I went to cut it, but I think because it was still warm and I was too impatient to let it cool fully. A dollop of whip cream on top - YUM! I will definitely make this pie again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
CRUSTLESS FLAN VARIATION: I poured the batter into my flan pan (no crust), and it turned out great. Mine took 1 hour to cook (not 45 minutes). I also had chopped up the spaghetti squash into small coconut-length pieces as suggested by other reviewers, and substituted the one cup of sugar with 1/4 cup of honey (I don't like sweet desserts), and added the grated rind of an organic lemon. I believe that the lemon rind gave it a nice tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Really good. Made no changes to recipe and it tastes very much like coconut cream pie. My kids gave it a thumbs up too. The only thing I will try next time is to cut up the squash a bit more because there is quit a bit of texture and I personally prefer less :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Added coconut extract. Tasted quite a bit like banana cream pie. Soooo good and a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really unusual but delicious recipe. I added a little lemon zest just to brighten the flavor and because we love lemon. My husband and my dad had seconds and would have had thirds if I hadn't removed the pie from the table! Creative way to use spaghetti squash. Take the advice of others and drain off the excess water from the squash after shredding it. Makes a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was a great inspiration for a GAPS Diet/Paleo recipe with some modifications. I replaced the sugar with 1/4 cup of honey (and could have cut it even more, next time will try 3 Tablespoons, and then hopefully just 2 Tablespoons would be enough). I omitted the crust entirely (crustless). And I increased the eggs to 4 eggs (will go all the way up to 6 eggs next time). We can't handle dairy, so used coconut oil. This was great for dessert or stand alone breakfast (especially with increased eggs). I could see this being a nice breakfast side dish to have with sausage. My 9 year old child and I are on GAPS Diet. She loved this. My husband is not on a special diet and he loved this as well. Definitely a win when everybody in the house likes a dish. And we did think it resembled coconut pie. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was just ok. However, I did make some modifications: 1. I did not have a crust (which probably would make it taste a million times better if I had) It had the consistency between pumpkin pie and coconut cream. I greased a 9x9 glass pan and baked it. 2. I used 2 eggs and some coconut/almond milk 3. I used 1/4 cup sweetener and 1/4 cup sugar - still kinda had that bitter taste sweetener gives I did cut up the squash into small pieces and let it drain for quite some time before. it took longer than 45mins to cook- probably closer to an hour. I did sprinkle some coconut and cinnamon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisKreates
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
After tasting the pies made with this recipe, I would do three things different - drain the squash before using, less sugar and add 1/2 cup of whole cream to make the base more of a custard and thus thicker and less runny. Flavor was great but the consistency of what I remembered was off and it dawned on me that milk/cream was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisKreates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I LOVE this pie. A dear friend gives me spaghetti squash from her garden every year, just so I will make this pie and bring it in to work. :) I added coconut extract instead of the vanilla and sprinkled a little shredded coconut on top. I took one reviewers advice and chopped the squash into smaller "threads." I love this cold for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Zeigler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States