Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MaryJaneHarrison
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really unusual but delicious recipe. I added a little lemon zest just to brighten the flavor and because we love lemon. My husband and my dad had seconds and would have had thirds if I hadn't removed the pie from the table! Creative way to use spaghetti squash. Take the advice of others and drain off the excess water from the squash after shredding it. Makes a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was a great inspiration for a GAPS Diet/Paleo recipe with some modifications. I replaced the sugar with 1/4 cup of honey (and could have cut it even more, next time will try 3 Tablespoons, and then hopefully just 2 Tablespoons would be enough). I omitted the crust entirely (crustless). And I increased the eggs to 4 eggs (will go all the way up to 6 eggs next time). We can't handle dairy, so used coconut oil. This was great for dessert or stand alone breakfast (especially with increased eggs). I could see this being a nice breakfast side dish to have with sausage. My 9 year old child and I are on GAPS Diet. She loved this. My husband is not on a special diet and he loved this as well. Definitely a win when everybody in the house likes a dish. And we did think it resembled coconut pie. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was just ok. However, I did make some modifications: 1. I did not have a crust (which probably would make it taste a million times better if I had) It had the consistency between pumpkin pie and coconut cream. I greased a 9x9 glass pan and baked it. 2. I used 2 eggs and some coconut/almond milk 3. I used 1/4 cup sweetener and 1/4 cup sugar - still kinda had that bitter taste sweetener gives I did cut up the squash into small pieces and let it drain for quite some time before. it took longer than 45mins to cook- probably closer to an hour. I did sprinkle some coconut and cinnamon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisKreates
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
After tasting the pies made with this recipe, I would do three things different - drain the squash before using, less sugar and add 1/2 cup of whole cream to make the base more of a custard and thus thicker and less runny. Flavor was great but the consistency of what I remembered was off and it dawned on me that milk/cream was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisKreates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I LOVE this pie. A dear friend gives me spaghetti squash from her garden every year, just so I will make this pie and bring it in to work. :) I added coconut extract instead of the vanilla and sprinkled a little shredded coconut on top. I took one reviewers advice and chopped the squash into smaller "threads." I love this cold for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Zeigler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was a really good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Only thing is, my 9" pie plate wouldn't hold it all so ended up making 2 pies! Wonderful flavor and next time I'm going to add the nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I should have followed other reviewers advice to shop the spaghetti squash. But the taste was delicious. We couldn't stop eating it and my daughters fought over the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this a week ago,made two using only 1 cup of spenda instead sugar 9 eggs only 3 with yolks everything else was the same.Was going to give 1 away guess what did`nt happen:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States