Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Lovely surprise, friends thought this was either coconut or pineapple filling. Everyone at dinner asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I really had high hopes for this, but I was disappointed. I love spaghetti squash and thought this would be an interesting new way to eat it. I baked my squash in the oven and followed the recipe exactly. But it was somewhat dry and more like a sweet quiche texture than a creamy coconut pie. Maybe I'll try it again and add another egg and some cream to up the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Absolutely AMAZING!! Enough said! Did use less sugar than recipe called for and still turned out great! Give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topmari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Excellent! My whole family loved it. Very healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. My family loved it and came back for second helpings. I will definitely be making this again. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the sugar way down from the 2 cups suggested. I used 1/4 cup of sun crystals (which is a mix of stevia and sugar) and it was plenty sweet enough for me. I also used an almond flour crust, as we watch our carbs. I added the optional dusting of nutmeg & cinnamon, which gave it a nice flavor. It tasted like a very nice cross between coconut pie and egg custard. My finished pie based on 8 servings worked out to less than 8 net carbs. I'm so happy I found this recipe, I will be baking it forever. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bexx
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I followed the recipe (except no crust) and it was just ok. Maybe I beat my eggs too long, not sure. Will maybe try again next time I have extra squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlyn
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was surprisingly good! I gave it 4 stars because there's no way this would taste like coconut pie without the (1 teaspoon) coconut extract I added. I also left out the optional seasonings because I don't think coconut pie should have cinnamon or nutmeg...MAKE SURE YOU CHOP OF YOUR SPAGHETTI SQUASH STRANDS FIRST! Make sure the bits are pretty small and add the coconut extract. Also, HALF THE SUGAR. It was perfect sweetness with only 1/2 cup of sugar so I couldn't imagine how it would be with the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Didn't really care for this. I make a lot of unusual things and make wonderful zucchini cake, crisp & brownies, but this was just so-so. The flavor was good and it smelled wonderful, but the texture wasn't good. I even cut the squash up before adding it like others suggested. Not a favorite. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
LOVE the concept, but it's just way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
FABULOUS! Super Simple and very tasty. Better if the spaghetti squash is not completely done, gives the pie just a bit of crunch. This pie is a sneaky sleeper and it is worth all the effort. Definitely my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States