Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTOS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I'm giving this 2 stars because I would have given it 4 but my boyfriend would have given it a 1. I loved the taste but struggled with the texture. He ate one piece and wouldn't touch it. He described this as eating a sauerkraut pie (not that it tasted like that). I made a few modifications. I used only 2 eggs, added in 1/2 a can (about 6 oz) of cocount milk and cut the sugar down to only 1/3 cup. It was plenty sweet with 1/3 cup. I also had to bake it an additional 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I told my family it was a coconut pie. The only one who wasn't fooled was my daughter and that was because she saw that the squash was missing from the countertop. I was surprised at how little it tasted like squash. Only gave it 4 stars because it was too sweet. Also I think I would have liked it better if it was more custardy.There were several reviews about the squash being too watery - For those of you who are boiling the squash to cook it - you can pierce the whole squash with a knife a few times then microwave it for about 7-10 minutes until you can push a knife easily through the outer shell. Then cut in half and scoop out the seeds. I did put the cooked squash in a dish and chopped it up some so there were no long strands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe looked so weird I just had to try it. It is fantastic. Unfortunately, I couldn't get anyone in my family to try it once they learned it was spaghetti squash. My vegetarian secretary and I pigged out on it at lunch. Will defintely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Loved this! I probably could have eaten half the pie myself tonite... and I may yet! Definitely use less sugar - it was very sweet. I didn't have nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice instead. It was delicious! It has sort of a custard-y taste. I also did not use a crust, just buttered a pie dish and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
What a clever way to use an abundance of spaghetti squash and get the family to eat more vegetables. I baked the squash in the oven and blended the eggs, butter, and sugar (I only used 1/2 cup) in the blender. I added coconut extract instead of vanilla and dusted the pie top with a little real coconut prior to baking. I did chop the squash to give it more of a coconut texture like one writer suggested. The taste and texture are both fantastic and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Disappointing need to let the squash drain more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I was as surprised as everyone else, my father-in-law is not a huge fan of coconut so he was skeptical of trying it, he still had a problem because the consistency is so close that he struggled swallowing it. I agree that maybe if you chop it up a little it won't be so stringy. He still said the taste is great and took another piece for the road LOL. I will be making this again and sharing with many. I love dishes like this, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
love it. Next time though I will cut the sugar 1/2. It was a little sweeter then I like. I made the whip topping myself but instead of adding sugar to the whipped heavy cream I added "Dickenson's Creme Coconut curd" it made the dish extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
What a crazy thing! This was so good but like most others, I was very skeptical, especially because I don't usually like squash (unless it's disguised). This was a super easy recipe to make and it tasted good too! I will definitely make it again. I only had 1 cup of squash so I just made a small batch of this (using a 3rd of everything - 1 egg, etc) and it worked fine - it was small but just for 2 people so it was fine. I also didn't have crust stuff so I put it in a dish and had it more like a casserole/pudding...I will definitely make this again but not sure if I will do the crust - it was delicious without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States