Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Pretty tasty! I used 3/4 cup sugar and a TBSP coconut milk, and reduced the butter to 2 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
its not a coconut pie but it is really really yummy. My hubby even loved it. Kids wanted 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I liked this however my hubby did not. It also did not taste like a coconut pie. The custard for lack of a better word was excellent, but the squash just didn't go over well. I think the texture was what my husband did not like. The taste was good and it is a unique way to get veggie haters to eat them. I followed this recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent use of a "bizarre" ingredient. Absolutely yummy and better than super sweet coconut any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I also don't really understand why this is called "mock coconut pie" there is no coconut flavor in the ingredients. That being said I omitted the lemon and vanilla and added approx 3 TBSP of coconut flavor Da Vinci Gourmet syrup, made mine with 1/2 cup Splenda and used 2 egg whites and one whole egg. I skipped the crust and just put it in a 2qt casserole dish and baked for 40 minutes and then turned my broiler on high for an extra 5 minutes and it came out very good.Kinda like a custard/pudding. Thanx for such a great recipe idea. So creative!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I was interested in the pie as a moderately healthy dessert; and as a healthy dessert I didn't expect it to be amazing, but at least edible. The biggest problem with this pie is the consistency of the squash. The little strands everywhere just isn't appealing; it's like eating pie made of linguine. If you could process the squash for a creamier consistency, this pie might get three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was a fun pie to make. I would have never though of using spaghetti squash for a pie! We are eating asw healthy as we can so I adapted this recipe a bit. I used splenda in place of sugar, egg whites and baked a whole wheat crust. For topping I used soy whip cream. So if you're craving a pie and want to stick to a healthy diet this just might work for you. The texture was great. I took a previous reviewers suggestion and cut the spaghetti squash small to look more like real coconut. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rohnda
Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Twain Harte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Hubby and I are on the South Beach Diet and this recipe fit the bill for adding yet more vegetables to our daily diet while giving us something sweet. I prepared this with 3/4 cup of Splenda and it was very sweet. It may be that I'm just not used to eating sweets anymore, but I might cut the sweetener back a bit next time. This would be good as a baked custard (no crust) or with a nut crust for low-carb or Phase 1 South Beach dieters. As others suggested, be certain to cook the squash very well until it is very soft. I cooked each half of a large squash on "high" in the microwave in a covered pan with 1/4 cup of water, face up, for 12 minutes and let it stand while covered until cooled. Strain the squash after you remoe it from the skin so its not too soupy. Cut it into coconut-size pieces; I used kitchen scissors. Coconut extract was used in place of the vanilla, as others suggested. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Initially fooled the fam, but had a bit too much crunch to pass as coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now and both times it has received raves. I preferred the first recipe I made which had less squash than was called for. When I used the full three cups, it was still good, but the consistency was not as pleasing. I also added some leftover coconut to the second time I did this pie and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States