Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
i think my husband ate most of this pie. he is already asking for me to make another. i used coconut extract instead of lemon juice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Terrific!! I added a meringue top instead of the whip cream topping. My husband and 12 year old son loved it!! Next time I might add a little coconut or coconut extract to it to increase the coconut cream resemblance. A definite keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I don't know what I was expecting, I love squash of any kind and love coconut, this just didn't do it for me. I boiled the squash and wonder if it was a texture thing that bothered me? Used less sugar and that was fine. My mom also made this recipe and loved it. Maybe I'll have to have her make it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Just recently, I've started to use coconut oil, coconut flour and shredded coconut when cooking due to the health benefits of coconut. When my husband brought home 3 spaghetti squash I thought this would be a great recipe to try. I used coconut oil instead of butter,3/4 C of sugar (since so many reviewers said 1 C was too sweet) ,put a few drops of almond extract instead of the lemon juice & added some shredded coconut. I put it into a casserole dish and it came out like an egg custard. It was DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again, but I'll decrease the sugar to 2/3 C since it was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I took this to work and there were some skeptics in the crowd, but after tasting it everyone wanted a)the recipe and b)a spaghetti squash from my garden! I used 3/4 cup sugar and only 2 eggs because I ran short...it was delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Pretty tasty! I used 3/4 cup sugar and a TBSP coconut milk, and reduced the butter to 2 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
its not a coconut pie but it is really really yummy. My hubby even loved it. Kids wanted 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I liked this however my hubby did not. It also did not taste like a coconut pie. The custard for lack of a better word was excellent, but the squash just didn't go over well. I think the texture was what my husband did not like. The taste was good and it is a unique way to get veggie haters to eat them. I followed this recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent use of a "bizarre" ingredient. Absolutely yummy and better than super sweet coconut any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I also don't really understand why this is called "mock coconut pie" there is no coconut flavor in the ingredients. That being said I omitted the lemon and vanilla and added approx 3 TBSP of coconut flavor Da Vinci Gourmet syrup, made mine with 1/2 cup Splenda and used 2 egg whites and one whole egg. I skipped the crust and just put it in a 2qt casserole dish and baked for 40 minutes and then turned my broiler on high for an extra 5 minutes and it came out very good.Kinda like a custard/pudding. Thanx for such a great recipe idea. So creative!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States