Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I didn't think this tasted at all like coconut, but we did enjoy it nonetheless. Very creative and good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I ate almost the whole thing by myself! I suggest changing the name...It didn't go over so well with everyone that was expecting a coconut cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huxtacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Yum! This is so good I passed the recipie on to my parents. At first is sounds and looks kind of gross when you are putting all the ingredients together. When you sit down to eat it...it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This tastes great - but I would definitely chop up the spaghetti squash a bit before putting it in the custard mixture. Also it took me about 10 minutes longer in the oven than the directions call for. But other than that its great! I am sure it would be a good way to get kids to eat their veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I love this pie! Made mine Weight Watcher friendly by using Splenda, lite butter, egg beaters and a Ritz cracker pie crust and it was still 'to-die-for' good. I can't imagine what it would be with all the full fat and eggs....yummy in the tummy. I used coconut extract instead of vanilla. I did drain the squash really well and wrapped it in a towel and it still was a little wet (I just cooked it longer). Maybe next time I'll try and "toast" the squash in the oven after cooking to dry it out a little more. Still, even a little wet, it's a delish treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was delicious. I didn't tell my husband what was in this until after he ate it- he loved it too. I cut back the sugar like suggested, but wouldn't next time. I would've liked more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I substituted a mashed banana for part of the squash, and used Splenda instead of sugar, used a few extra pinches of the spices on top, then topped with 1/2 cup shredded coconut. Awesomely good, but too sweet, so will reduced Splenda to 2/3 cup and tried again. One key to making this pie a nice texture is to cut up the spaghetti squash either before or after cooking and very thoroughly drain the water from the squash before and after mashing. First I used a colander, then paper towels to absorb the last of the water from the cooked squash, changing the paper repeatedly. Even then, the knife inserted when pie is done may come out moist, but otherwise clean. The filling does set up when cooled if enough water was squeezed from the squash. Mine came out great. To cook the sqaush, I put it in a glass covered cassarole with 1 2/3 cups water and cooked in the microwave on high for 10 minutes to 15 minutes, until fork-tender. I also saved time by using Pillsbury pre-made crusts that come rolled in the refrigerator section at the grocery store. After making it this way several times, I increased the banana (substituted it for half of the squash) and used acorn squash instead of spaghetti squash. I like the taste and texture of the acorn squash with banana better. One of the most delicious pies I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I adore coconut custard pie, but hate the calories and cholesterol. I didn't have quiiite enough spaghetti squash, so I filled in the rest with coconut and I added 1/4 tdp almond extract. It was really good. In fact, I like the texture of the squash better and was sad that I had added coconut at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this for a potluck, and people were definitely fooled. They couldn't believe that there was no coconut in the pie. I thought it was pretty tasty, especially with some homemade whipped cream. I found that it took longer to cook to make the knife come out clean, but then my crust tasted burnt even after putting aluminim foil over the edges. I think next time I'll try it without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverlight928

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was so pleased with this recipe. Never would have come up with this myself. I did not put it in a crust and did put in only 1/4 c. sugar and 1/4 c. Splenda. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States