Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was delicious. I didn't tell my husband what was in this until after he ate it- he loved it too. I cut back the sugar like suggested, but wouldn't next time. I would've liked more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I substituted a mashed banana for part of the squash, and used Splenda instead of sugar, used a few extra pinches of the spices on top, then topped with 1/2 cup shredded coconut. Awesomely good, but too sweet, so will reduced Splenda to 2/3 cup and tried again. One key to making this pie a nice texture is to cut up the spaghetti squash either before or after cooking and very thoroughly drain the water from the squash before and after mashing. First I used a colander, then paper towels to absorb the last of the water from the cooked squash, changing the paper repeatedly. Even then, the knife inserted when pie is done may come out moist, but otherwise clean. The filling does set up when cooled if enough water was squeezed from the squash. Mine came out great. To cook the sqaush, I put it in a glass covered cassarole with 1 2/3 cups water and cooked in the microwave on high for 10 minutes to 15 minutes, until fork-tender. I also saved time by using Pillsbury pre-made crusts that come rolled in the refrigerator section at the grocery store. After making it this way several times, I increased the banana (substituted it for half of the squash) and used acorn squash instead of spaghetti squash. I like the taste and texture of the acorn squash with banana better. One of the most delicious pies I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I adore coconut custard pie, but hate the calories and cholesterol. I didn't have quiiite enough spaghetti squash, so I filled in the rest with coconut and I added 1/4 tdp almond extract. It was really good. In fact, I like the texture of the squash better and was sad that I had added coconut at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this for a potluck, and people were definitely fooled. They couldn't believe that there was no coconut in the pie. I thought it was pretty tasty, especially with some homemade whipped cream. I found that it took longer to cook to make the knife come out clean, but then my crust tasted burnt even after putting aluminim foil over the edges. I think next time I'll try it without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverlight928

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was so pleased with this recipe. Never would have come up with this myself. I did not put it in a crust and did put in only 1/4 c. sugar and 1/4 c. Splenda. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This pie was . . . interesting. The flavor tasted like my grandmother's buttermilk pie. Every now and then I would get a weird squash flavor though that just didn't quite match with it being a sweet dessert. I don't regret trying it but probably will not make again unless I have an abundance of spaghetti squash for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyleandali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
i think my husband ate most of this pie. he is already asking for me to make another. i used coconut extract instead of lemon juice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Terrific!! I added a meringue top instead of the whip cream topping. My husband and 12 year old son loved it!! Next time I might add a little coconut or coconut extract to it to increase the coconut cream resemblance. A definite keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I don't know what I was expecting, I love squash of any kind and love coconut, this just didn't do it for me. I boiled the squash and wonder if it was a texture thing that bothered me? Used less sugar and that was fine. My mom also made this recipe and loved it. Maybe I'll have to have her make it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Just recently, I've started to use coconut oil, coconut flour and shredded coconut when cooking due to the health benefits of coconut. When my husband brought home 3 spaghetti squash I thought this would be a great recipe to try. I used coconut oil instead of butter,3/4 C of sugar (since so many reviewers said 1 C was too sweet) ,put a few drops of almond extract instead of the lemon juice & added some shredded coconut. I put it into a casserole dish and it came out like an egg custard. It was DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again, but I'll decrease the sugar to 2/3 C since it was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States