Mock Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was an unexpected, delicious and very easy recipe. Like some other reviewers I added garlic and found I needed to add a tiny bit of liquid (vegetable stock) after chilling. Served with pita chips or wheat crackers, this is gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Since I made it the night before, I had to add some boullion as it had dried out. Other than that, it tasted just like chopped liver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I am a caterer & made this for an event today. Everyone raved & there wasn't a bite left! One batch made enough for about 15 people on a buffet with much other food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Delicious and healthy. I don't think it tastes exactly like chopped liver but then again I don't flip over chopped liver-- this is much better. I had to add some extra water to lentils and cook for a little more than 30 minutes until they were tender. I added a couple of cloves of garlic to the cooking lentils. Doesn't look pretty put it is delicious and a hit with guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
this mock liver is amazing. i've made it every passover for the past couple years. i don't know how it tastes like real chopped liver, but it does. i sometimes dust it with hard-boiled egg yolk crumbles for extra-authentic display, but either way it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I was out of walnuts and the stores were closed - which led to my variation: leave out the walnuts and add a cup of matzo meal. Use canola oil (1/2 cup) or margarine or both to make up for the oil from the nuts. Use two eggs. Add a two teaspoons soy sauce to give it a deeper color and ease up on the salt. Refrigerate. This was taste-tested and found to be a dead ringer for chopped liver. I was contemplating using shelled sunflower seeds but someone wanted to eat them - should be worth a try. So my compliments on the original. This nut-free version is also cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Very tasty, but with a very dry texture. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make it for a vegetarian friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
With all due respect to those of you who rated this recipe so highly, it didn't float my boat. Made it EXACTLY according to recipe but it tasted nothing like liver to me. Right color, right texture but the taste was more like lentils, walnuts and onion... go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. I made it for our Super Bowl Party. As we are getting up there in age, everyone is worried about their health, and this won't clog your arteries. It tastes great, if you like chopped liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICADEZ
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Wow, this was very impressive. I used Knorr vegetable (bouillon mix?), and it worked just as well. I cooked the lentils til it was mush - 15 min for split red lentils - and whizzed the walnuts separately in my magic bullet. The onions I also whizzed separately then added the walnuts and lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States