Mock Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I was out of walnuts and the stores were closed - which led to my variation: leave out the walnuts and add a cup of matzo meal. Use canola oil (1/2 cup) or margarine or both to make up for the oil from the nuts. Use two eggs. Add a two teaspoons soy sauce to give it a deeper color and ease up on the salt. Refrigerate. This was taste-tested and found to be a dead ringer for chopped liver. I was contemplating using shelled sunflower seeds but someone wanted to eat them - should be worth a try. So my compliments on the original. This nut-free version is also cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
At first I was a little bit leery about this recipe, but once I tasted it, I knew it would be a hit at our next potluck. Sure enough, I was right, everyone loved it. However, being a garlic lover, I did add some garlic to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I am a caterer & made this for an event today. Everyone raved & there wasn't a bite left! One batch made enough for about 15 people on a buffet with much other food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
When I made this yesterday I tried it and thought "oh well, you can't really expect lentils and walnuts to taste like liver anyways". Oh, what a difference a day makes. After a night in the fridge the consistency and flavor are totally different, and absolutely wonderful! The texture is the only serious giveaway, as it's not quite as homogeneous and creamy as pate. I processed for a long time but some lentil husks just didn't get throughly ground so there's a little bit of a veggie/grainy texture from the fiber. If you can live with that, you will love this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe directed, although I added a fair amount of kosher salt (2-3 tsp) and no pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
this mock liver is amazing. i've made it every passover for the past couple years. i don't know how it tastes like real chopped liver, but it does. i sometimes dust it with hard-boiled egg yolk crumbles for extra-authentic display, but either way it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This makes an excellent side dish or appetizer. I think it tastes best cold as it thickens after it cools. I added an additional 1/4 cup walnuts since I love walnuts. I served this with Armenian whole wheat flatbread. This recipe can be made vegan by using vegetable broth instead. Thanks Marcia for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Love it!!! Thank you for sharing this. I have made this for almost every party in the past 2 years. It always goes down well and I am always asked for the reciepe by at least one person. It is a simple and safe dish- I never know who is vegetarian or who eats what meat, etc. therefore I replace the chicken boullion with either a seasoning salt (vegeta) or a vegetable bouillon cube. (Always make sure that the walnuts are fresh and have not gone stale)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Not bad. I cooked Passover for my husband's family (I'm the shikse) so I tried to keep it traditional. This mock chopped liver was as good as those that I had gotten at delis in the past. Only complaint was that it made way too much -- like nearly 6 cups. Might have done something wrong. Could have used a bit of liquid to make it more moist, too. I think my mini-food-processor was partly to blame there, though... hard to mix well. Would make again, but would half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Intrigued by the recipe (and reviews), I gave this one a try without any alterations. It was easy enough to make, and while not altogether BAD, I (and my guests) didn't think it was anything special. It had the look of chopped liver, but certainly not the taste...so-so at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOEKNEEBALONEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Delicious and healthy. I don't think it tastes exactly like chopped liver but then again I don't flip over chopped liver-- this is much better. I had to add some extra water to lentils and cook for a little more than 30 minutes until they were tender. I added a couple of cloves of garlic to the cooking lentils. Doesn't look pretty put it is delicious and a hit with guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States