Mock Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This definetly gives the tofu a tougher texture. I have a recipe for original style kentucky fried chicken breading recipe I dipped the tofu in. It was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was my first time trying this technique and I thought it was great. After thawing, the tofu did have a sponge-like texture but tasted great after cooking. I used the tofu in the "Tofu 'fish' fillet sandwiches" recipe also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
this recipe has opened up a lot of new options for me. thanks, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This recipe certainly does deliver firmness: I forgot mine in the freezer for 6 months and it thawed out with the consistency of a kitchen sponge. I'll try a shorter freeze next time and hopefully it'll turn out more edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
you are my HERO! This makes it the exact texture of boca/gardenburger/morningstar chiken nuggets or patties, ill never have to pay their outrageous prices again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I found it takes a little longer than mentioned to get the tofu to thaw all the way through the center but I now love this technique! I used it with The Honey Mustard Tofu recipe also on this site and it was really good. I've also used this technique, sliced the tofu, dipped it in flour, browned it on both sides, then poured BBQ sauce in the skillet and it was really good. I imagine you could use this technique to make "mock chicken" and use any type of sauce you might normally use on chicken breasts. This opens up a lot of recipe ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I'm a vegetarian, and I use tofu in recipes all the time--thanks for this great idea! I really like the sort of firm chewiness the freezing gives the tofu. I have used this method ever since I stmbled upon this "recipe" about year ago, and now this is the only way I prepare my tofu!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
What a great idea! I have used this method several times and it definately helps the tofu hold together. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This really did work. I'm still learning to like tofu, and this made it much less mushy and nicer to eat. Thanks for the tip! (Oh, and I left in the freezer way longer than 72 hours and it still worked fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is a wonderful method. It is a good idea to freeze tofu you don't have immediate plans to use, as it can spoil quickly. I love the more meat-like texture of frozen tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Ferocious

A super-simple, one-skillet, spicy Szechuan-inspired chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States