Mock Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
While it's a great idea to freeze tofu for at least 24 hours to give it meat-like texture, freezing it in the package, if you get it in those plastic containers, is a BAD idea. The water tends to swell when it freezes, and the package could burst, leading to a big mess. Simmering is also a terrible idea when dealing with plastic. So, if you have a plastic package, which tofu often comes in, remove it from the package, slice it, and freeze it in a freezer bag, then remove and simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Okay, I tried this again twice now with a different brand of tofu- Frieda's - and it was great. Frieda's is packaged in a plastic container though and I didn't feel good about simmering it, so the first time I dumped the frozen tofu in a bowl and microwaved it and it was really good. The second time I used Extra Firm Tofu (same brand) and thawed it in the refrigerator in the original container. The Extra Firm was even better. It drained well and soaked up a lot of the sauce it was cooked in. MUCH better than tofu straight from the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
What a great idea! I have used this method several times and it definately helps the tofu hold together. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I recently switched to a full vegan diet and this recipe has really helped increase my possibilities with tofu. Instead of simmering the tofu I just bring the tofu down from the freezer a day before I need it and place it in the refrig to thaw out, you know like I used to do with meat. Works great, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This definetly gives the tofu a tougher texture. I have a recipe for original style kentucky fried chicken breading recipe I dipped the tofu in. It was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I found it takes a little longer than mentioned to get the tofu to thaw all the way through the center but I now love this technique! I used it with The Honey Mustard Tofu recipe also on this site and it was really good. I've also used this technique, sliced the tofu, dipped it in flour, browned it on both sides, then poured BBQ sauce in the skillet and it was really good. I imagine you could use this technique to make "mock chicken" and use any type of sauce you might normally use on chicken breasts. This opens up a lot of recipe ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
you are my HERO! This makes it the exact texture of boca/gardenburger/morningstar chiken nuggets or patties, ill never have to pay their outrageous prices again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This recipe certainly does deliver firmness: I forgot mine in the freezer for 6 months and it thawed out with the consistency of a kitchen sponge. I'll try a shorter freeze next time and hopefully it'll turn out more edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
this recipe has opened up a lot of new options for me. thanks, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Oh my gosh!! I have been vegetarian for close to 3 years, and I can't believe I have only now found this recipe! Its great! I like the texture WAY better this way then any other way I have tried. I made sure to cut slices quite thin, and really get all the water out before using. It worked like a charm! THANK YOU~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States