Mock Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
this recipe has opened up a lot of new options for me. thanks, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
What a great idea! I have used this method several times and it definately helps the tofu hold together. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This definetly gives the tofu a tougher texture. I have a recipe for original style kentucky fried chicken breading recipe I dipped the tofu in. It was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This recipe certainly does deliver firmness: I forgot mine in the freezer for 6 months and it thawed out with the consistency of a kitchen sponge. I'll try a shorter freeze next time and hopefully it'll turn out more edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I found it takes a little longer than mentioned to get the tofu to thaw all the way through the center but I now love this technique! I used it with The Honey Mustard Tofu recipe also on this site and it was really good. I've also used this technique, sliced the tofu, dipped it in flour, browned it on both sides, then poured BBQ sauce in the skillet and it was really good. I imagine you could use this technique to make "mock chicken" and use any type of sauce you might normally use on chicken breasts. This opens up a lot of recipe ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was my first time trying this technique and I thought it was great. After thawing, the tofu did have a sponge-like texture but tasted great after cooking. I used the tofu in the "Tofu 'fish' fillet sandwiches" recipe also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This really did work. I'm still learning to like tofu, and this made it much less mushy and nicer to eat. Thanks for the tip! (Oh, and I left in the freezer way longer than 72 hours and it still worked fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I tried this and it turned out firmer for sure. However, it also changed colour from cream colour to more of a tan colour. I hope I didn't do something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Okay, I tried this again twice now with a different brand of tofu- Frieda's - and it was great. Frieda's is packaged in a plastic container though and I didn't feel good about simmering it, so the first time I dumped the frozen tofu in a bowl and microwaved it and it was really good. The second time I used Extra Firm Tofu (same brand) and thawed it in the refrigerator in the original container. The Extra Firm was even better. It drained well and soaked up a lot of the sauce it was cooked in. MUCH better than tofu straight from the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Gave me my first sucessful tofu recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States