Mock Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Thank you for the great suggestion!! It really gives me more options with tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This really works. I left the tofu in the freezer for a month because I got busy. I sliced it and added a dry seasoning packet to it and put it on the griddle. I can definitely use this in my vegetarian recipes. My husband was skeptical about it. He ate it. I guess I will be stocking up on it and looking for new flavors to introduce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
you are my HERO! This makes it the exact texture of boca/gardenburger/morningstar chiken nuggets or patties, ill never have to pay their outrageous prices again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I'm a vegetarian, and I use tofu in recipes all the time--thanks for this great idea! I really like the sort of firm chewiness the freezing gives the tofu. I have used this method ever since I stmbled upon this "recipe" about year ago, and now this is the only way I prepare my tofu!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is a wonderful method. It is a good idea to freeze tofu you don't have immediate plans to use, as it can spoil quickly. I love the more meat-like texture of frozen tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is my favorite form of tofu now. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Gave me my first sucessful tofu recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Okay, I tried this again twice now with a different brand of tofu- Frieda's - and it was great. Frieda's is packaged in a plastic container though and I didn't feel good about simmering it, so the first time I dumped the frozen tofu in a bowl and microwaved it and it was really good. The second time I used Extra Firm Tofu (same brand) and thawed it in the refrigerator in the original container. The Extra Firm was even better. It drained well and soaked up a lot of the sauce it was cooked in. MUCH better than tofu straight from the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I tried this and it turned out firmer for sure. However, it also changed colour from cream colour to more of a tan colour. I hope I didn't do something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This really did work. I'm still learning to like tofu, and this made it much less mushy and nicer to eat. Thanks for the tip! (Oh, and I left in the freezer way longer than 72 hours and it still worked fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States