Mock Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yes freezing tofu is a good idea. But there is a better method. Freezing in the plastic and dropping the plastic in water isn't the best plan. Here's a method I was taught that I think works better. 1. Take the Tofu out of the package. 2. Cut the Tofu into cubes. 3. Put the cubes into a plastic bag and then freeze. When you are ready to use, just grab the number of cubes needed. Drop them in boiling water until they float to the top. Let them drain and cool. Now you can use them in any recipe you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I was not impressed, even after pressing the tofu for hours following the freezing process. Freezing the tofu gave a strange spongy texture that my husband and I both did not think it tasted like meat. I am Asian so I grew up eating tofu and love the taste of tofu - straight out of the package, stir-fried, or dry-fried. But freezing is something I will not bother again. If you want a more solid tofu, try pressing extra-firm tofu, then bake it or dry-fry it. Afterwards, you have a tofu that you can eat alone or dip in breadcrumbs or whatever else your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This worked so easily! I loved the texture and the tofu held up very well, did not crumble at all. (I did not simmer the package it in water to defrost it. I just left it on the counter until it was soft again and it worked just fine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Oh my gosh!! I have been vegetarian for close to 3 years, and I can't believe I have only now found this recipe! Its great! I like the texture WAY better this way then any other way I have tried. I made sure to cut slices quite thin, and really get all the water out before using. It worked like a charm! THANK YOU~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
drain,wrap, freeze and defrost in fridge. Freezing in container is a mistake and defrosting on stove not neccessary. Otherwise, works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I decided to thaw the tofu in the fridge instead of putting it in hot water. After thawing, I squeezed out the excess liquid. I used "Amy's Garlic Chicken" recipe, also from this site, and served it with garlic brown rice. Loved it! Next time, I will try it with extra firm tofu and see which one is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
i use this recipe all the time & i looove ittt. i usually have a package of tofu in the freezer, so most of the time i take it out of the freezer and stick it in the fridge the day before i want to use it. then when i use it, i just drain it and press the water out & forgo the whole simmering business. awesome & easy both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
creative, but didn't work for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I always bought those little "chicken nuggets" in the veggie section that are made from soy. Unfortunately where I live they are really expensive so this is a great alternative. I followed the instructions, dipped the pieces in egg and then a quick round in the bag with some shake-n-bake and they are fantastic. Next time I'll find a better breading recipe but for the first try, shake-n-bake did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Wonderful technique for Tofu, to get that meat-like texture. Would have given it a 5 star rating, but never ever simmer, re heat or cook in plastic. So freeze your tofu in its package or freezer bag for at least 24 hours. Remove from the freezer and run the bag/package under hot water to loosen tofu. Place tofu into a double broiler like set up...I used my pasta pot and a glass bowl, covered with aluminum foil. Allow pasta pot to simmer on high. You will have to drain liquid from your glass bowl a couple of times and turn the tofu too (until it is thawed), taking 15-20 minutes. Place tofu on paper towels and press to drain excess water and juices. Cut and use as you like...I made Mock Chicken Salad. WOW! The texture was just like chicken and my husband and children (VERY PICKY EATERS)never knew it wasn't the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States