Mock Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I gave it five starts for the idea, but not the technique. You really should take it out of the plastic. I prefer to freeze it in individual portions, and thaw them one at a time. To freeze, Andrea Nguyen recommends cutting into chunks (portions), then draining for 10 minutes and placing on a parchment-lined baking sheet with space in between. Freeze until hard, then transfer to a ziptop bag. That works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bisaillon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yes freezing tofu is a good idea. But there is a better method. Freezing in the plastic and dropping the plastic in water isn't the best plan. Here's a method I was taught that I think works better. 1. Take the Tofu out of the package. 2. Cut the Tofu into cubes. 3. Put the cubes into a plastic bag and then freeze. When you are ready to use, just grab the number of cubes needed. Drop them in boiling water until they float to the top. Let them drain and cool. Now you can use them in any recipe you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I was not impressed, even after pressing the tofu for hours following the freezing process. Freezing the tofu gave a strange spongy texture that my husband and I both did not think it tasted like meat. I am Asian so I grew up eating tofu and love the taste of tofu - straight out of the package, stir-fried, or dry-fried. But freezing is something I will not bother again. If you want a more solid tofu, try pressing extra-firm tofu, then bake it or dry-fry it. Afterwards, you have a tofu that you can eat alone or dip in breadcrumbs or whatever else your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This worked so easily! I loved the texture and the tofu held up very well, did not crumble at all. (I did not simmer the package it in water to defrost it. I just left it on the counter until it was soft again and it worked just fine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Oh my gosh!! I have been vegetarian for close to 3 years, and I can't believe I have only now found this recipe! Its great! I like the texture WAY better this way then any other way I have tried. I made sure to cut slices quite thin, and really get all the water out before using. It worked like a charm! THANK YOU~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
drain,wrap, freeze and defrost in fridge. Freezing in container is a mistake and defrosting on stove not neccessary. Otherwise, works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Case

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I decided to thaw the tofu in the fridge instead of putting it in hot water. After thawing, I squeezed out the excess liquid. I used "Amy's Garlic Chicken" recipe, also from this site, and served it with garlic brown rice. Loved it! Next time, I will try it with extra firm tofu and see which one is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
i use this recipe all the time & i looove ittt. i usually have a package of tofu in the freezer, so most of the time i take it out of the freezer and stick it in the fridge the day before i want to use it. then when i use it, i just drain it and press the water out & forgo the whole simmering business. awesome & easy both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
creative, but didn't work for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I always bought those little "chicken nuggets" in the veggie section that are made from soy. Unfortunately where I live they are really expensive so this is a great alternative. I followed the instructions, dipped the pieces in egg and then a quick round in the bag with some shake-n-bake and they are fantastic. Next time I'll find a better breading recipe but for the first try, shake-n-bake did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Ferocious

A super-simple, one-skillet, spicy Szechuan-inspired chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States