Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was a great new twist on another use for ground beef. Since my children don't like spicy food I used a Lipton Soup mix to season the meat. I also used an egg wash so that the cracker crumbs would coat the patties better. We had fried potatoes, pepper gravy, and steamed brocolli to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Excellent. And simple. Its more of a Salisbury Steak than a chicken fried steak though. I served it with brown gravy and mashed potatoes and we ate the heck out of it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetalChef24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I loved this and so did my 20 month old daughter. I did only put in 1/4 tsp of chili powder and I added a little granulated garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Delicious with mashed potatoes and country gravy! Only complaint - the patties didn't need to be cooked 7 minutes on each side, mine were definitely a bit overdone. The crackers give a nice crispy coating. I used the Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix instead of chili powder, and it was great. Absolutely one of our new regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I'm adding this recipe to my repertoire. It's a quick and tasty way to turn plain old hamburger into something a bit more classy. I did find this to be a bit too salty, so I'll cut some of the salt next time. The chili powder was interesting, but a bit overpowering--try halving the amount you use and adding an equal amount of fresh-cracked black pepper instead. Overall very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My whole family of 6 loves this recipe. We make a gravy from the drippings...(found it on this site from another chicken fried steak recipe), with mashed spuds and corn we have a complete, inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a great recipe! I cut down on the salt that was supposed to be added because of all the saltines. I also used less oil and substituted cracked balck pepper instead of chilli pepper. Served with country gravy and was a very yummy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I enjoyed making this{so easy} as much as eating it--yum. Most important my husband and kids(age 2&5)ate it very!! well. We've had it twice in two weeks. I also used the lipton beef&onion soup mix because it sounded more flavorfull. Glad I found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
All 3 of my kids loved this--a rare feat in our household! I substituted ground turkey for the beef & added a packet of onion soup mix. I also needed more than 1 cup of crushed crackers to coat the patties, maybe because of the texture of the turkey. Served w/mashed potatoes & country gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy McClure Mock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! I'm currently living overseas and finding certain spices is nearly impossible... chili powder included, so I didn't use any. I used extra parsley instead. Aside from that one tweak, everything else was done by the book. I served with mashed potatoes and glazed carrots. I also used the drippings to make a basic gravy that you typically find being served with chicken fried steak. The ingredients are simple, the preparation is simple and the cooking part is simple... no complaints from me at all. This recipe definitely gets 5 stars from me! Thanks. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States