Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Absolutely loved the flavor, I used Italian bread crumbs instead, and I am a garlic lover so of course I added that. My 18 month old son loved it. I paired it with mashed potatoes/ green beans and gravy! YUM I also cut the oil so it was not as greasy, just enough to coat the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abengus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This recipe is great! I cooked for 8, and it was a big hit with all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Why this is called Mock Chicken, I'll never know. It's good, but it's just hamburgers. I don't understand the title of Mock CHicken Fried Steak. It IS good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
MMMMmmmm very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Spencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was pretty good. I was very skeptical when I made this because I thought that it would just taste like hamburgers; well I was wrong. I did not add the chili powder, instead I added Lawry's seasoned salt, garlic salt and pepper. I was also out of crackers so I used panko crumbs. I also added the same seasonings I used in the meat on the panko crumbs. Turned out pretty good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was fantastic! I changed a little up, but stuck to the basic idea of the recipe. I left out the chili powder, and added in it's place; garlic, pepper, dry onion soup mix, and a tiny pinch of crushed red pepper. I also substituted the crackers for plain bread crumbs, which I seasoned with garlic, pepper, onion powder and parsley. I fried it for 6 minutes per side in a little bit of olive oil. This turned out to be the best chicken fried steak I have ever had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
DEFINITELY A HUSBAND PLEASER- I WAS OUT OF CHILI POWDER (JUST NEVER HAPPENS), SO I USED "CAVENDERS" (LOVE THAT STUFF)- PEOPLE HAD SOME HARD TIME KEEPING CRACKERS ON "STEAK", SO I DID WHAT MY FRIEND DOES WHEN SHE MAKES HER CFS- DIP PATTY IN FLOUR, DIP IN EGG WASH, DIP IN CRACKERS- OH, AND I BAKED THESE!! SPRAYED MY PAN AND THEN SPRAYED MY STEAKS, 350 TIL DONE, I PUT ON BROILER LAST COUPLE MINUTES AND MY STEAK WAS BEAUTIFUL!!!!- SERVED WITH "MUSHY PEAS I" AND MASHED POTATOES WITH PEPPER COUNTRY GRAVY... YUM... HUSBAND LOVEDDDD IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was very tasty! The chili powder added a nice, slightly smoky flavor. I did change the recipe by baking, as others suggested, at 380, instead of frying, to avoid extra oil and a messy stovetop. Genius! This was a real kid pleaser, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was a great way to stretch a pound of ground beef. My family loved this and it was very similar in texture and taste to the type of CFS you get from a frozen product. Personally I wasn't impressed, but it was okay. I would eat this again. Thanks for a great way to serve up boring ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was exceptionally good for a "mock" anything. I can't believe how simple it was to make and just how closely it resembled CFS. Tip- you do not want to crush the crackers to finely. A medium blend is perfect for this recipe. My family prefers this to real CFS now because we actually know whats under the breading. This is awesome served with a pepper gravy or country gravy. Simple recipe. Excellent likeness. Will absolutely be sharing with family and friends. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States