Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My whole family of 6 loves this recipe. We make a gravy from the drippings...(found it on this site from another chicken fried steak recipe), with mashed spuds and corn we have a complete, inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I'm adding this recipe to my repertoire. It's a quick and tasty way to turn plain old hamburger into something a bit more classy. I did find this to be a bit too salty, so I'll cut some of the salt next time. The chili powder was interesting, but a bit overpowering--try halving the amount you use and adding an equal amount of fresh-cracked black pepper instead. Overall very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is a great, easy dinner. My husband and son both loved it. I thought it was pretty good too. I did not use the chili powder and subbed Lipton soup mix instead, as others had advised. Didn't need to cook all 7 minutes per side. Made gravy to go with and had a great new item to add to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I think that I did a few things wrong here - first, I used ritz crackers instead of saltines, which made it too rich. And, the tablespoon of chili powder was way too much - I'd use a quarter or a half tablespoon next time. But, overall, my husband said it didn't really work for him, using hamburger instead of steak...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Delicious with mashed potatoes and country gravy! Only complaint - the patties didn't need to be cooked 7 minutes on each side, mine were definitely a bit overdone. The crackers give a nice crispy coating. I used the Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix instead of chili powder, and it was great. Absolutely one of our new regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was a great new twist on another use for ground beef. Since my children don't like spicy food I used a Lipton Soup mix to season the meat. I also used an egg wash so that the cracker crumbs would coat the patties better. We had fried potatoes, pepper gravy, and steamed brocolli to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I loved this and so did my 20 month old daughter. I did only put in 1/4 tsp of chili powder and I added a little granulated garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was very easy and quite yummy. I'd like to try it again with gravy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARRINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
How easy is this recipe! My husband & I liked it very much. Good flavor. I put a beef gravy with it but it actually took away from the flavor of the meat. (Glad it was on the side) I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
My boyfreind cared for this much more than I did. He actually had seconds! I did not have saltine crackers on hand so I used garlic flavored ritz crackers. I did not use as much oil listed on the recipe. I used a non-stick pan and about two tablespoons oil. I will keep because my boyfreind liked so much however not a favorite of mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States