Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe was so good! Of course, being the first time I made it and all, it took some work and seemed sloppy, but that's what gettin your feet wet is all about! My family loved it! The only problem I had was I couldn't keep the bits of coating that would fall of from burning, so I only seared them on the outside and baked them through. I also made Super Sausage Gravy on this site from Bob Evans and it turned out delish! This is a keeper. Thanks for putting this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! I'm currently living overseas and finding certain spices is nearly impossible... chili powder included, so I didn't use any. I used extra parsley instead. Aside from that one tweak, everything else was done by the book. I served with mashed potatoes and glazed carrots. I also used the drippings to make a basic gravy that you typically find being served with chicken fried steak. The ingredients are simple, the preparation is simple and the cooking part is simple... no complaints from me at all. This recipe definitely gets 5 stars from me! Thanks. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
All 3 of my kids loved this--a rare feat in our household! I substituted ground turkey for the beef & added a packet of onion soup mix. I also needed more than 1 cup of crushed crackers to coat the patties, maybe because of the texture of the turkey. Served w/mashed potatoes & country gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a good idea to build on. I made it without the salt and chili powder and mixed up a package of white cream gravy and poured it over the steaks. DH didn't know he was eating ground meat. It could use some seasoning, onion etc. It fried up really well after sitting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
In my family we always called this "Poor Man's Steak". It's delicious, easy and a good base recipe to add things (like soup mix) to change it up! Very good!! My daughter (3 years old) LOVES this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This recipe was simple yet very good. I will be keeping it and using it on a regular basis. I did use the dry soup which was suggested in previous reviews. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was a good week night meal. It was easy and fast. I also served mine with a package of gravy, and cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I enjoyed making this{so easy} as much as eating it--yum. Most important my husband and kids(age 2&5)ate it very!! well. We've had it twice in two weeks. I also used the lipton beef&onion soup mix because it sounded more flavorfull. Glad I found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a great recipe! I cut down on the salt that was supposed to be added because of all the saltines. I also used less oil and substituted cracked balck pepper instead of chilli pepper. Served with country gravy and was a very yummy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My whole family of 6 loves this recipe. We make a gravy from the drippings...(found it on this site from another chicken fried steak recipe), with mashed spuds and corn we have a complete, inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States