Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very good and easy. I too did not use the chili powder, but used some dry onion mix(I get mine from the bulk store). Don't need near the amout of saltine's listed. I wasted a lot. Maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup in the meat and then another 1/2 cup to coat. I did not put in any salt, but did add pepper. Loved the crunchy coating. Also used very little oil to cook. Just cook a bit more slowly so it doesn't burn. Healthier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is soooo good! I did make a couple of changes. I brushed the patties with egg and then pressed the cracker crumbs in. Like others, I had to keep cleaning out the skillet to get rid of burnt breading. Kept done ones on a rack on a cookie sheet in the oven at 300F while cooking the rest to keep warm. I used two eggs in the meat mixture. Did not need to be cooked 7 minutes... only until nicely browned. I made up a packet of Country Gravy and had mashed potatoes and corn. True comfort food! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and found that this was sooo easy and really tasty. Next time I will crush the crackers to a finer crumb. I have added this recipe as one our regular, repeat meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Other than omitting salt, we followed the ingredients as written. We stuck the “chicken” patties in the freezer for approx. 15 min. instead of using the refrigerator for 30. This is a very quick, easy & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Made this for dinner just because I had all the ingredients, and my 9 year old even loved it!! Will make it again very soon, I think we have a new regular meal for dinners! it was super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This looks alot like the recipe I use. Only I use Italian bread crumbs, a little in the meat and to coat, instead of the cracker crumbs. I also use two eggs and one grated carrot in the meat to keep it from getting too dry. The kicker is that I don't fry them in oil I just put them in the oven on 380 for about 35 min. This is a much healthier version. Served with ketchup or gravy, either is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I season mine with a packet of the dry onion soup mix. My family likes this. Great for a quick meal on a busy night. Experiment with different seasonings. Serve on Burger Buns or with White Country Gravy. Homemade french fries for your side. Not very healthy, but sometimes you have to splurge...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My family did not like this at all. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was good...but was even better when I toasted some hamburger buns and put the chicken fried steak on it with some cream gravy topping. Now that was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States