Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chefs wife
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Family loved it! I used panko instead of crackers. I also added chopped fresh garlic, a little fresh dried basil and oregano to the panko. I omitted the parsley but still used the chili powder. Served with beef gravy. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs wife
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Fun recipe , great way change up ground beef. Thanks for sharing. I left out the parsley and replaced it with kale. My kids ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I wouldn't make it again but it was ok for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was so good! I had 1/2 lb of hamburger for two people, so I only added 1/4 cup crackers, since I didn't need to stretch it so far. I didn't have any parsley, and I don't like chili powder, so I added a dash of garlic powder and a dash of onion powder. It was plenty salty from the crackers,so I'm glad I didn't add salt. I fried them in 2 Tbls oil and 1 Tbls margarine. I've never been a fan of hamburger steak, but I'll be making this again! Hubby wolfed his down. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is pretty good. My son is 28 and sooo picky and he didn't realize I had made it with ground beef. He wanted seconds. It is so hard to find something that he likes and so it is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I ground my own beef. I use London broil and trim off the fat. I used ½ teaspoon kosher salt, and one egg white whisked with water instead of the whole egg. I used unsalted Saltine crackers and fry in canola or grapeseed oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These really are a lot like chicken fried steak. Even my picky 16 year old son gave it a thumbs up. I didn't have the crackers so I kind of did what Lavonda did. I made my patties & then dipped them in some floor that had all the spices in it, including some garlic, seasoned salt, & pepper, then dipped them in eggs, & in the flour again, and then fried. I made some gravy with some of the grease, flour, & milk & water and I also made mashed potatoes. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe is so good! My husband and his brother loved this! I loved it so much, i used the same ingredients to make a meatloaf, and it came out wonderful! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is really easy & really good. It goes great with a white pepper gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmfansler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States