Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I wouldn't make it again but it was ok for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was so good! I had 1/2 lb of hamburger for two people, so I only added 1/4 cup crackers, since I didn't need to stretch it so far. I didn't have any parsley, and I don't like chili powder, so I added a dash of garlic powder and a dash of onion powder. It was plenty salty from the crackers,so I'm glad I didn't add salt. I fried them in 2 Tbls oil and 1 Tbls margarine. I've never been a fan of hamburger steak, but I'll be making this again! Hubby wolfed his down. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is pretty good. My son is 28 and sooo picky and he didn't realize I had made it with ground beef. He wanted seconds. It is so hard to find something that he likes and so it is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I ground my own beef. I use London broil and trim off the fat. I used ½ teaspoon kosher salt, and one egg white whisked with water instead of the whole egg. I used unsalted Saltine crackers and fry in canola or grapeseed oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These really are a lot like chicken fried steak. Even my picky 16 year old son gave it a thumbs up. I didn't have the crackers so I kind of did what Lavonda did. I made my patties & then dipped them in some floor that had all the spices in it, including some garlic, seasoned salt, & pepper, then dipped them in eggs, & in the flour again, and then fried. I made some gravy with some of the grease, flour, & milk & water and I also made mashed potatoes. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe is so good! My husband and his brother loved this! I loved it so much, i used the same ingredients to make a meatloaf, and it came out wonderful! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is really easy & really good. It goes great with a white pepper gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmfansler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
WOW, just like at the restaurants! used turkey instead of beef and added a little more chili; topped of with peper gravy and the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I make this recipes exactly as directed. This is a family favorite. We alternate between white and beef gravy with this. Always served with mashed potatoes and green beans. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
ok... so i thought this looked different and like something fun to do with ground turkey. however, let's just call it like it is. this is basically a fried hamburger. we did think it was pretty good, but i don't think it was any better than a regular hamburger, and was a lot worse for you after being dredged in crumbs and fried. i don't think i'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States