Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was so good! My kids loved it. There were no leftovers! I will definitely make this one again...Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
my husband love chicken fried steak, but i never order it because they always use the worst cut of beef. using ground beef, however, seemed better because it's more like a hamburger. i tried it out last night with mashed potatoes and gravy and we will definitely be having it again. thanks for the creative recipe. other than using dried parsley instead of fresh (it's what i had on hand)i didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made this for 3 Navy men, me and my 10 year old daughter. I doubled the recipe and there was only one patty left. I made it with Kickin' Collard Greens(on Allrecipes) It was delicious and relatively simple. The only thing I did differently was to dip the meat patties in milk before covering in the saltines, I found it made it stick more easily. A tip* Crush the saltines in the bag, its fast and easy, and mess free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was just alright for me. Chili powder was a bit too much. My boyfriend loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patrashcan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
You know, this is a really good recipe. I even forgot to add an egg to the patties AND forgot to coat the outside with the leftover cracker crumbs and it STILL turned out really good. I would definitely make this again and make it like the recipe reads. The only change I made (besides the stuff I forgot) is I used about a pound and a half of meat instead of just the one pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
my whole family really enjoyed the flavor! i used 3/4 ground turkey and 1/4 hamburger, omitted the parsley and substituted corn flake crumbs (boxed) for the saltine crackers. baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and served w/cream of mushroom diluted with 3/4ths can in water and two small cans of sliced mushrooms. will definately make again! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I rated this recipe three stars, but I think with some changes, it could be a four (maybe even 5 stars). I followed the recipe exactly with a few very minor changes (I added some garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce and a bit of soya to the meat mixture to try to moisten it up a bit). We found that the patties were WAYYYYY too salty in the end. It's really important to note (and I'm surprised nobody has mentioned it yet), that if you are using salted crackers (salted tops), then there is no need to add salt to the meat mixture. Also, as I mentioned, the meat mixture was pretty dry; IMHO 1 cup of crackers is way too much to add - 1/2 cup would be more than sufficient. Lastly, I made a peppercorn gravy to serve with it and both my DH and I agree that this dish would be pretty bland without it. Here is my recipe for peppercorn gravy. Once the patties are cooked, remove from the (cast iron) skillet. Reserve 1/4 cup of the drippings; to the oil add the following to the pan: 4 Tbsp of flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp paprika and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Cook for a few minutes (to cook the floury taste out of the mixture). Add 2 cups milk and stir until thick, then add 1 1/2 tsp of crushed peppercorns, stir and serve with the patties. This gravy recipe is also really good with the real thing (real chicken fried steak!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My family loved this recipe. I didn't have saltines, so I substituted ritz crackers and used just a little less chili powder. My 6 yr old son (picky eater) said this was the best dinner ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Really good and really easy. I overdid the the first time, but will watch them closer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
this was a first for me making CFSteak. It was pretty easy, I substituted onion soup mix for the spices called for. Hubby thought it was good. Defintely need the country gravy to make it great. I'll probably make this again, but not an every month recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States