Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My husband loves these. He calls them "hamburger steaks". I get a package of hamburger patties already made up, which are pretty thick, season them them garlic powder, onion powder, steak seasoning, and pepper. Cover them with flour, dip in mixture of egg and buttermilk, put them back in the flour and cook covered on medium heat till done. About 4-5 min on each side. Then I scrape the bottom of the iron skillet to get all the goodies off, drain all but about 2-3 tablespoons of oil, then add about 3-4 tablespoons of flour, cooking till brown, then I mix up a cup of milk and half a cup of water together and add it a little at a time till I get a thick gravy. Pour over the steaks and serve with garlic mashed potatoes and veggie. One delish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was pretty good. My husband and I both really enjoyed it. I probably will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was totally awesome! The whole family loved it, even the kids! That's hard to do! I was going to change what I coated the patties in but my daughter and I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great! The hubby wished there was more! I made a nice, white gravy to go with it. Awesome! Will definitely make again and will be sure to take a picture next time! Yummmm-meeeeee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Goodness my kids LOVED thesE! The official request was can we have them for lunch AND dinner tomorrow??? LOL My hubby who hates chicken fried steak liked this too! I didn't use the spices recommended by the author but used the onion soup mix and baked for 30 min at 380F as one of the other reviewers suggested. YUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Delish! Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATH1973

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
OMG! *sobbing with culinary joy* What a great idea! The only thing I did different was the ground beef itself. I buy chuck roast when it's dirt cheap, cut it into cubes and freeze in one lb pkgs. Then I pulse in the food processor (in 2 batches) until it's ground however I want it. For this I ground it a bit coarser than for burgers. The texture was perfect. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I'm rating the meat part 5 stars. Fantastic. Solves the problem of chewiness/toughness in cube steak. I used ground turkey. Had to add a few tablespoons bread crumbs bc too sticky. Delicous and tender. For the coating and gravy, I used "The Best Chicken Fried Steak" from this site. Best meal at our house in weeks. NO ONE COMPLAINED! Definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I have made this several times now, and I think I have it down pretty well. I can use either one egg or a little mayo to bind the ground beef together with a little parsley, garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, a dash of cayenne pepper, some butter cracker crumbs, salt, and ground black pepper. I premake the patties the night before and refrigerate overnight, it seems to meld everything together better and keeps the patties from breaking apart. I use butter crackers for the coating seasoned with the same seasonings as in the patties. I coat the patties directly in the cracker crumbs, turning several times to ensure a good coating, and pressing the crumbs into the patty, then I fry in hot oil in my electric skillet for about 5-7 minutes each side. You have to make sure that both sides are cooked thoroughly, even a little dark, or the coating falls off or turns soggy. I place a sheet of foil over a large cookie sheet and place a cookie cooling rack over the foil, set my oven to 200, and when a patty comes out of the skillet, I place it directly onto the cooling rack and keep in the oven until dinner is ready, and the patties lose the greasy exterior and stay crunchy and warm. Husband didn't like this recipe and wouldn't hardly eat any of it when I first started making it, now he likes it and eats it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very good and kind of different. My whole family enjoyed it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is a good starting point, but it needs a LOT more seasoning. It was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States