Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
this was a first for me making CFSteak. It was pretty easy, I substituted onion soup mix for the spices called for. Hubby thought it was good. Defintely need the country gravy to make it great. I'll probably make this again, but not an every month recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I love chicken fried steak, but it is sometimes chewy and isn't super healthy. I've made this a few times and my wife and I love it. I've even made it with turkey meat and used olive oil to cook it in. It's super tasty and much healthier than regular CFS. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Way too greasy. Didn't taste like Chicken Fried Steak at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
It wasn't what I expected. It was bland, and the crackers didn't stick to the outside of the meat when frying. I made my own country gravy, and that made the difference. Together it was good. My husband tried it with the gravy and without and didn't like it. Instead, he added ketchup, and was able to finish his dinner. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I was expecting something that tasted a lot better instead what I got was plain old boring hamburgers.Sorry but I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Hubby LOVED this! I made it exactly the way the recipe says except i used dried parsley and grated carrot to sneak some veggies into his diet. Served it with homemade hashbrowns and homemade brown gravy. Yummo :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Delicious! Husband and 2 year old loved it. Used only about 1 1/2 cups cracker crumbs. Be sure to not make the patties too thick or it takes too long to cook. Served with a quick pan beef gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was a really good recipe. The only thing I changed was I put in less chili powder because I know my husband isn't fond of overly spiced foods. I really did enjoy it, but I will be adding less chili powder next time for my husband. This really is a good mock recipe. Very much like chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
While these were good I am not exactly sure I would relate them to chicken fried steak. To make them more CFS like I would ditch the crackers and dip the patties in an egg/milk mixture then dip in regular old flour - they would be much more authentic this way. I also don't really see the need to have the bread crumbs mixed into the meat. I added more seasonings to suite my families taste, shredded carrots into the meat to sneak in veggies and help with moisture, and pan fried them in about a tablespoon of oil. While they came out good as the recipe is written I will definetly make my changes next time to see if they can be even better. I will also try baking them on racks in the oven to emliminate the need for oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This recipe was ok .... good but not great. I followed it exactly. I'll try it again but with onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBit72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States