Mock Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Surprisingly good! I don't like cranberries OR rasins (I made the pie for my mom) but I tried a slice anyway and was quite pleased. It really DOES taste like a cherry pie. It will be making further apearances at family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I made the filling from this recipe and used it between two layers of banana oatmeal cookie cake (just a weird personal invention), and it was delicious! I used a can of Thanksgiving cranberries and substituted Craisins for raisins, and the filling was sweet and tangy... and it really does taste like cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I love cranberries, so it's no surprise that I enjoyed this pie. I made it for a crowd, and it was very well-received, even by those only marginally interested in cranberries, including those who turn their noses up at raisins. The tartness of the cranberries mellows out with the first cooking of the berries and makes for a pleasant fruity pie. It makes a great autumn pie, perfectly appropriate for Thanksgiving dinner, but I plan on making it year-round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Awesome recipe concept! If you have a tough time finding canned TART cherries (or worse yet, fresh, which only seem to be in season on or about June 17 each year, for about an hour and 13 minutes - what? You missed it?!) this is perfect! Cherry pie is my husband's favorite, and so I'm stocking the freezer with cranberries while they're in season. For a more authentic cherry pie taste, I skipped the vanilla and used 1/2 tsp almond extract, plus 1 Tb fresh lemon juice. This gives it a great tart kick, which is what DH loves about cherry pie. I also used 2/3 Splenda and 1/3 white sugar in place of all sugar, which is now standard practice for me when making any pie. No one is any the wiser, but it allows the diabetics in the bunch to partake without guilt, plus everyone is happier to have skipped the carbs. Thank you for posting this recipe, which will no doubt be requested on every major holiday in this house, until I reach the end of my pie-baking days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is incredible! I took the advice of another reviewer and skipped the vanilla replacing it with 1/2 tsp almond extract plus 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice. It tastes so much like cherry pie that no one could guess that it wasn't! The ONLY giveaway is the texture. You can tell there are raisins in there. But it's so yummy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Call this Cranberry-Raisin Pie and you'll get alot more people trying it! We're a family of cranberry fans, and my whole family was delighted with this pie and its sweet/tart mixture....quite unique! Great with a dab of cream or vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These were good...very sweet with all those raisins and all that sugar (and I even reduced sugar to 1 c). I personally didn't find this overly convincing as a cherry pie, although the almond extract did help in that department. A very good and simple filling to use when in a pinch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
is that fresh cranberries or dried cranberries?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I am so happy to find this recipe!!! My grandmother used to make this every Thanksgiving. I am going to start the tradition...Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This recipe turned out great, very similar to the one I had years ago. I added 1/2 cup of walnuts per request of my husband. I tried it with vanilla and then again with almond extract and lemon juice as one review suggested and I like the almond extract with lemon juice better. Thanks so much for this recipe it is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States